Scenario: You are attacked by an unarmed thug

FP

Diamond Member
Feb 24, 2005
Assailant is approaching quickly from about 25 feet away.

You have a 3.5" folding pocket knife in your pocket you always carry with you.

Do you run the other direction or do you stand and fight.

If you choose to fight, do you involve the knife?

If you involve the knife, do you go for piercing damage which will likely cause mortal wounds or do you go for slicing wounds that will most likely disable?

Do you hold the knife in your dominant hand or keep your dominant hand available for punching?

I have no knife fighting experience but was wondering this on my daily walk today.

Discuss.

iroast

Golden Member
May 5, 2005
You run. Attack only when cornered. Not worth the legal hassle or the guilt of possibly killing someone.

Pacfanweb

Lifer
Jan 2, 2000
Stab and twist, stab and twist.

How do you know for SURE that the assailant is unarmed? He might have a knife in his pocket, too. Or a gun.

FP

Diamond Member
Feb 24, 2005
Originally posted by: Pacfanweb
Stab and twist, stab and twist.

How do you know for SURE that the assailant is unarmed? He might have a knife in his pocket, too. Or a gun.

He is in a wife beating and board shorts. No obvious signs of a weapon.

I am unsure if involving the knife would be a good idea. Takes it to a new level. Plus I have no experience stabbing anyone but have been in a few fights so having both hands would be nice.

Tiamat

Lifer
Nov 25, 2003
run away if possible. If you know the knife wont trade hands, use if necessary.

Capt Caveman

Lifer
Jan 30, 2005
This happened to a Harvard student several years ago. He was attacked by two punks and pulled out a knife and killed one of them. He was convicted for murder and is currently appealing.

compuwiz1

Admin Emeritus Elite Member
Oct 9, 1999