Scanner recommendation

Zorander

Golden Member
Nov 3, 2010
Hi all,

I'm looking for a new scanner to replace a 10-year-old flatbed (which, while still works perfectly, cannot work with Win7 64-bit). No specific requirements, other than good scan quality, reasonable speed and ease-of-use. Preferrably not bigger than the old flatbed too. I just need the scanner for the odd scanning needs.

While I am hunting for a scanner, are those built into multi-function printers now of acceptable quality (they were terrible a decade ago)? I might consider a laser b&w multi-function printer to supplement my existing inkjet printer (for text printing), in which case something that can connect directly to my router would be great. No budget in mind yet but should be around $150-250 mark.

Please kindly shoot me your recommendations.

Thanks.

biostud

Lifer
Feb 27, 2003
I have a canon LiDE 100 scanner that I'm happy with, but I'm not a pro. Maybe look into their range to see if something fits your needs.

jhansman

Platinum Member
Feb 5, 2004
Just got the Canon MG5220, an AIO with a surprisingly good scanner. I've used it for image scanning and copying and thus far am quite pleased with it. It's wireless (wired, if you prefer), prints duplex, and photos thus far look great. At $85 on sale, it was a bargain.

smitbret

Diamond Member
Jul 27, 2006
If you wanna use it for any kind of serious photo work, pick up an Epson Vxxx series scanner. Otherwise, the Canon printers are great for the price. AIO ten to be pretty good, nowdays, too. The Epson Artisan AIOs are pretty good all around devices.

know of fence

May 28, 2009
I'm looking for a scanner, as well in order to digitize some of my books for quick reference. And generally scan stuff so I can throw away the paper.

A scanner needs to be really fast at 200 dpi / colorless.
It also needs a really fast interface, USB3 maybe.
It needs programmable buttons (at least one) to start repeated scans in quick succession.