Samsung 840 pro very slow

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by ravaneli, Dec 4, 2012.

  1. ravaneli

    ravaneli Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Brand new drive, latest firmware, Windows 8, AHCI mode, ran all the performance tuning with the magician software and the drive just feels SLOW SLOW. I have a X25 drive from intel that is 2 yr old and much slower on paper but feels 10 times faster than this. Please help - what setting do I need to turn on? I know its something with my settings as the drive has perfect reviews..


    [​IMG]
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Samsung slow Forum Date
    Samsung 840 Pro slow perfomance? Memory and Storage May 16, 2017
    Samsung 950 PRO NVMe 512GB - Slow Memory and Storage Jan 8, 2016
    Samsung 850 Evo slow down bug? Memory and Storage Aug 24, 2015
    Slow write speeds but normal read speeds (SAMSUNG 850 EVO) Memory and Storage Jul 16, 2015
    Are my random reads and writes slow? (Samsung Magician) Memory and Storage May 15, 2015

  3. GPz1100

    GPz1100 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2001
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Plugged into a sata2 port?
     
  4. ravaneli

    ravaneli Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    sheesh, I am one dumb piece.

    This is more like it, and OH MY, IS IT SNAPPY NOW!

    [​IMG]
     
  5. Kenmitch

    Kenmitch Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    6,635
    Likes Received:
    36
    What was your issue? With threads like this it's kinda best if one explains how they fixed the problem. :)
     
  6. Coup27

    Coup27 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    2
    Er, hello?
     
  7. Mfusick

    Mfusick Senior member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    500
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought same thing.
     
  8. ravaneli

    ravaneli Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry, thought it was obvious - i had plugged it in a sata2 port.
    The drive gives me pure joy now. Everything opens instantaneously.

    Thanks to Mr. GPz1100 for a very quick and accurate response!
     
  9. Remobz

    Remobz Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    2,452
    Likes Received:
    0

    I want to buy a Samsung Pro 256MB.

    Did it come bundled with any cloning software?

    If not, do you know of a simple yet good cloning software so I can transfer my old HDD (files, OS etc) to my new SSD one?
     
  10. greekman123

    greekman123 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. ravaneli

    ravaneli Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have the 256 gb and it DID come with cloning software. The Magician software offers cloning.
    That's the only thing that it comes with : )
    Not even a bracket. Mine is dangling in the PC case
     
  12. kbp

    kbp Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe time to update that case!
     
  13. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    2
    Double sided tape is your friend. Dont lay it there , doesnt seem right that expensive hardware sitting in case like that. Put it somewhere and use double sided tape but the thick kind not regular tape,,,,,, and it will be kept without moving and live a long life... I have both of mine on the front of the case wall,, cuz I dont have a push fan there...... gl


    This is interesting,, my SSDs are in sata 2.0 ports,,,,,, but 2.0 or 3.0 shouldnt matter with booting and app launching and regular tasks. However maps in games will load twice the speed with 3.0. Its good for bulk transfer. Well Im gonna upgrade to a P8 board,, Ill have 3.0 maybe my score of 7.2 will go to 7.9 or the score is jacked up,,,,
     
  14. John Connor

    John Connor Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2012
    Messages:
    20,834
    Likes Received:
    315

    Go to eBay and look up SSD brackets. I seen them there for a few bucks.
     
  15. Brahmzy

    Brahmzy Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2004
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    LOL - I don't keep SSDs long enough to mount them.
     
  16. m.alkhalel

    m.alkhalel Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2012
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    DON'T buy the cheap ones....
    Invest some extra $$ and you can get an overclockable one !
     
  17. ravaneli

    ravaneli Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    my case is CM Storm and i love it. The drive is not exactly dangling, it is sitting on top of something so it doesn't move.

    The performance difference can be felt in absolutely everything, or I would have never noticed. I never did a benchmark test before. I just got annoyed that the little intel xm25v drive feels faster on my other PC. I decided to investigate and found the bench test.
     
  18. GPz1100

    GPz1100 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2001
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    To the OP, glad the advice helped. It was the first thing that came to mind when I saw your initial numbers. Does it make a difference in day to day usage, probably not. If the board has sata3 ports, why not use them.....

    As for ssd mounting, I have mine wedged between some cables and the power supply on the bottom of the case. I see no reason to physically mount it unless the chassis will be moved often. Where it's at gets reasonable airflow (enough to keep the drive at 24-26C). Granted, if the case had a spot to bolt it to, I would, but with all the bays occupied, this seemed good a place as any.
     
  19. cytg111

    cytg111 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,392
    Likes Received:
    280

    - ?? Call me dumb (not really), but how does going from sata2 -> sata3 explain a factor 5 to 10 jump in IOPs ? I can see the bandwidth ~doubling, but i dont get the iops part.
     
  20. GPz1100

    GPz1100 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2001
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^^I have no answer to that. The #'s I was referring to was the sustained transfer rate (sequential). Sata2 tops out at 300MB/s sustained. His rates were even lower. Maybe some controller overhead to make it work with sata2?? Perhaps someone more knowledgeable can address this question.
     
  21. groberts101

    groberts101 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,390
    Likes Received:
    0
    IMO, if the "feel" of the drive changed that much by just swapping it onto a sata3 port?.. then you had some other issues going on there.

    Because if swapping from sata2 to sata3 Intel ports had such a major benefit to the OS's basic function and overall system "feel"?.. then everyone would be getting rid of their older hardware in favor of it.

    From my experience so far.. and everyone I know and test with.. aside from benchmarking and actually transferring to/from another drive with at least the same speed capabilities.. there should be no MAJOR differences in user perception as the sata2 ports are more than sufficient for lighter usage models in the first place.

    Either way.. glad you got it sorted so easily.
     
  22. ravaneli

    ravaneli Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    i am really perplexed by the change in random read/write but they do match my perception. The drive opened files slow, and installing programs took way too long for such a drive. It feels totally different now. I don't know, all i did was unplug the sata cable and plug it one hole above. I prefer not to investigate when everything is ok, and i am quite happy now.
     
  23. Kenmitch

    Kenmitch Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    6,635
    Likes Received:
    36
    It makes it easier for other members to troubleshoot their own issues if they are similar if one states what fixed the issue.

    Well it could have been other things such as didn't install drivers, using 3rd party sata ports, bad cable, etc.

    Enjoy your SSD :D
     
  24. Coup27

    Coup27 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    2,125
    Likes Received:
    2
    No offence, but you seem to be the only one with any doubt over the origins of the problem. By post #3 the OP said he had moved it from a SATA 3Gbps port onto a 6Gbps port and performance rocketed to levels he would have expected. No other solutions such as drivers, cables or anything else had been discussed and there is no indication of a continuing problem after moving to a 6Gbps port.
     
  25. Burner27

    Burner27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2001
    Messages:
    4,087
    Likes Received:
    2
  26. Kenmitch

    Kenmitch Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    6,635
    Likes Received:
    36
    No offense taken....But he never stated he switched it to Sata3 port in post #3

    Maybe reading the other posts will make you realize why I said its best to update threads with the fix....His original issue looks to be more than sata2 vs sata3.
     
    #25 Kenmitch, Dec 5, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2012