safe to use power cord with missing ground prong?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by nova2, Sep 27, 2006.

  1. nova2

    nova2 Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    0
    i guess this sums the issue up:

    http://www.google.com/search?&q=%22missing%20ground%20prong%22
    "You may notice that the electric appliance such as power tools work fine with broken ground prong. That?s why a lot of people just ignore it and keep using those tools with the plug that missing ground prong. But fact is the ground prong is just like insurance. When a wire comes loose inside of the ungrounded tool, and the loose wire touches the metal parts. If the loose wire is hot, the metal part is hot, too. Anyone who touches, it will get a potentially fatal shock. With grounded, the electricity from the hot wire flows straight to ground, and this trips the fuse and prevent electric shock. "

    my CRT monitors power cord is now 2 pronged instead of 3 pronged.

    I'll get a replacement cable later (the monitor isn't used much), but, is there any significant reason to stop using the current cord? (afterall, i've been using a extension strip with missing ground prong for months). I haven't tried plugging it back in since this happened.

    for the curious: yes the ground prong was left in the power socket for under a day until i noticed the problem :)
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - safe power cord Forum Date
    Can I safely power this thermometer with my PC's power supply? General Hardware Jun 22, 2012
    Is It Safe to Power on a Computer with No CPU General Hardware Oct 7, 2010
    Safe to power off within BIOS? General Hardware Apr 9, 2006
    Power Supply safe to use? General Hardware Feb 5, 2006
    Uninterruptable Power Supply.. Safe near hardware? General Hardware Dec 7, 2005

  3. GalvanizedYankee

    GalvanizedYankee Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,986
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. dfuze

    dfuze Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2006
    Messages:
    11,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is grounded for a reason. I'm not an electrician but I think that would make a big shock hazard without the prong. Also, I think you'd be nuts to take a chance of ruining an expensive (anything over $50 is expensive to me! ;) ) monitor for the sake of a $5 cord. I would suggest waiting until you get a new cord.
     
  5. nova2

    nova2 Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2006
    Messages:
    982
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks for that, yankee.