Running Bitdefender Total Security 2013 with SuperAntiSpyware - Good or Bad???

Discussion in 'Security' started by Herkulese, Oct 18, 2012.

  1. Herkulese

    Herkulese Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know that the vast majority here seem to hold Kaspersky in much higher regard than Bitdefender, but that is what I have, and that is because when I did my research, I found Bitdefender rated highest in several reviews.

    I also have SuperAntiSpyware Pro, and would like to use it with Bitdefender, but am concerned that they may conflict. Many say that SAS is Spyware, and not an AV, so it shouldn't be a problem. I am given to understand that the free version of SAS is on demand only, and hence not an issue, but I want to run the Pro version live.

    Will this cause any issues?

    Thanks for any and all help,
    Herk
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Running Bitdefender Total Forum Date
    Popular Android Keyboard App Caught Collecting User Data, Running External Code Security Sep 25, 2017
    Bitdefender Free Security Mar 18, 2017

  3. Slugbait

    Slugbait Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    3,627
    Likes Received:
    0
    From http://www.superantispyware.com/
    So yeah, you should be fine.
     
  4. Herkulese

    Herkulese Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked and as you stated, I should be good to go.

    I will go ahead and install the SAS Pro, run it live, and see what happens. It is a small risk, as I have incremental images of my setup that I can go back to if anything gets hosed up. Makes it nice to be able to do a lot of experimenting.

    I will try to remember to post back after using it for a week or so. I am old though, so I might forget. LOL
     
  5. Herkulese

    Herkulese Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2001
    Messages:
    1,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    After running BD Total Security 2013 and SAS Live together for a week or so, I have to say that my system became very sluggish, so I reimaged back to just prior to installing SAS Pro, and it was back to running like it is supposed to.

    Now I am running BD Total Security 2013 with Malwarebytes Pro - Live, and all seems OK after several days.

    I will post back..................