Rotator cuff injury?

Discussion in 'Health and Fitness' started by Kalessian, Nov 8, 2012.

1. Kalessian

Kalessian Senior member

I recently decided to combine power cleans with overhead press instead of doing them separately to save time using up the power rack at my gym. I'm new to cleans and I was getting very tired near the end and the last two reps I ended up pressing with my hands much wider on the bar than normal. It was 105 lbs which isn't my normal ~125 lbs that I press in the rack but I still did too much it seems. Those last two reps caused a bit of pain so I called it quits altogether.

The day after (yesterday) was pretty rough, could barely do anything without shoulder pain. Today is better, but now I notice my shoulder keeps popping during movement, something it never did before. There's pain whenever I try to lift my arm above my head, especially if I put any weight on it like grab a coat off a hook. The pain is dead center in the front or my shoulder and is somewhat sharp.

I've never injured my shoulders before and was wondering if there's something I should do or just lay off it for a while. Going to the gym today but just to squat and run.

2. Zivic

Zivic Diamond Member

this isn't your rotator cuff. more likely it is your bicep tendon. I have had issues with mine. actually, just strained my right side this week. epic bench press and all ;). if it was your rotator cuff, it the pain would be on the back side of your shoulder

the clicking you are feeling is the tendon not tracking properly. hammer curls will help with that part. best thing I have found for discomfort is taking a light weight and hanging your arm off the side of your bed and doing small circles. this will help muscles pull it back into place. don't do overhead, windmill type movements in hopes of loosening it up.

3. Kalessian

Kalessian Senior member