Room Lights Flicker when Advancing Turn in TW: Shogun 2

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by Wall Street, Dec 17, 2012.

  1. Wall Street

    Wall Street Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    16
    The Antec Neo 520 I am using should be plenty of juice for mysystem with an i5-750 and a GTX 570, both at stock. My issue however, is that with only my rig, two CLF bulbs and three LED bulbs on in my apartment, the CLF lights flicker very slightly when I advance the turn in Total War: Shogun 2. I am pretty sure that the age of my apartment is at issue. Our building has old-school fuses and ratty looking wiring. It is certainly not up to modern standards but there is little I can do about this. I am pretty sure that my whole apartment is on one circuit but am unsure powerful that circuit is and have never blown the fuse.

    The computer hasn't crashed (yet, knock on wood), but how bad is this for the computer? Do you guys think a power reconditioner can do anything to remedy this?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Room Lights Flicker Forum Date
    Flip PSU switch on and lights go out Power Supplies Mar 8, 2014
    Blew room circuit breaker, PC now 100% dead Power Supplies Jun 9, 2013
    what is the power supply of led light Power Supplies Mar 19, 2013
    PSU causes breaker/room to pop and reset Power Supplies Jun 23, 2011
    How much room Left? Power Supplies Mar 15, 2010

  3. Red Squirrel

    Red Squirrel Lifer

    Joined:
    May 24, 2003
    Messages:
    40,816
    Likes Received:
    1,251
    It's normal for high draw stuff to cause some flickering, but never seen a computer do it. I'm guessing there is some loose wiring somewhere. Or sub par wiring in general.

    Do you have access to your own electrical panel? See if you can rule out those lights being on the same circuit or not. If they're not, then the issue could be upstream. The feeder wire needs to be thick enough that the voltage would not drop unless the draw is very high. The computer is probably not drawing more than a few amps at most...
     
  4. tracerbullet

    tracerbullet Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2001
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    6
    A good size UPS comes to mind right away, as something you could use.
     
  5. Deders

    Deders Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2012
    Messages:
    2,401
    Likes Received:
    1
    Maybe don't click the mouse so hard at the end of your turn, can be hard to resist I know.
     
  6. Vinwiesel

    Vinwiesel Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2011
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Some CFL's are pretty touchy. Mine flicker when I turn the computer on, or when the laser printer is on. I've never had the computer affect them once it's already running though.
     
  7. Wall Street

    Wall Street Senior member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    16
    Good to know. I wish I had a power monitor to know what kind of Vdrop I am getting on my mains. That being said, nothing bad has happened to the computer as of yet so I will just avoid overclocking and should be safe (knock on wood).