Rookie Overclocking question

leeland

Diamond Member
Dec 12, 2000
ok so I am a beginner at overclocking have had read multiple posts with instructions on how it is done and what settings are to be changed...ect.

I have the latest BIOS from asus for the board and am running 4 GB's of RAM PC-6400 800 Mhz

I have a couple of questions....

If the FSB is 266 x 4 for a total of 1066 but the RAM which I have is PC-6400 800 MHz and I leave everything as stock then the RAM so that means it is NOT a 1:1 FSB/DRAM ratio correct and is termed "asynchronous"?

I am assuming that it is optimal to run in a 1:1 ratio? or does it really matter?

From the posts I have seen I have started out by changing some "key" settings in regards AUTO to what is recommended either from the manufacture website or online...

* Set my memory voltage to 2.0V (Manufacture Recommendation)
* Set the CPU voltage to 1.25 (checked the BIOS monitor and Z-CPU and went in the middle)
* Tried to set the manufacture recommended timings for my RAM 4-4-4-12 but it wouldn't boot on the manual settings, had to increase it to 5-5-5-15.

once I did that it booted fine and that is where I am at right now.

I have tried a couple of times to follow the posts about setting the FSB higher to achieve the 1:1 ratio and also increasing the CPU speed but I think I am failing...

On the asus board I think if I don't manually pic a DRAM frequency it just increases the clock speed as I increase the FSB because they are linked...I believe the term is bootstrap? Please correct me if I am wrong. Do I have to manually modify the DRAM Frequency setting in correlation to the Multiplier and the FSB so they some how magically match?

I left the DRAM frequency as auto...increased the FSB to 300 and rebooted...came up fine but when I went into Z-CPU it showed the DRAM frequency at 450...don't think that is what I wanted...

SO before I F anything up, I set everything to stock and decided to post this.