Question ROG Phone 2 + VoLTE on Straight Talk: help needed! [SOLVED] (sort of)

DrMrLordX

Lifer
Apr 27, 2000
I've been using this ROG Phone 2 on Straight Talk for about three years, give or take. It has worked fine the entire time. Unfortunately, Straight Talk insists that my phone can't do VoLTE on their network (I'm using an AT&T SIM, so basically I'm using AT&T towers). It's an unlocked GSM phone fwiw.

By default, with the latest firmware from Asus, the phone doesn't support VoLTE. I had to activate the menu items by typing:

*#*#3642623344#*#*

In the dialer application.

Doing so enables Wifi calling and enhanced 4GLTE features on the phone under its network settings. These settings remain exposed until I reboot the phone. There's another way to enable them permanently that involves rooting the phone (which I do not wish to do at this time). However! Despite the fact that I have enabled Enhanced 4G LTE and Wifi calling, I see no symbol activated at the top of the screen to indicate a change in calling features (allegedly an Android phone should be showing me something to indicate that VoLTE is active), and Straight Talk still insists that my phone is either not compatible with their network's implementation of VoLTE or that it just isn't activated at all.

Is there any indirect way to test if VoLTE is working, such as looking for data counters to increment after a long phone call? Straight Talk is saying my phone will stop working with them in February without giving me a specific date.