Requesting build advice: can I go mATX?

Avogadro

Jan 5, 2011
Hello everyone,

My 2011-era video card (GTX 570) died yesterday and since my entire system is over 5 years old, I've decided to build a new system from scratch. Let me start by answering the recommended questions.

1. What YOUR PC will be used for. That means what types of tasks you'll be performing.
I work from home full time (typing, spreadsheets, internet) so need a reliable system. Plus I do some gaming (FPS, some MMO-type games, and RPGs). I am not a professional-level gamer though.

2. What YOUR budget is. A price range is acceptable as long as it's not more than a 20% spread
For what I want I'm thinking around $1,200 should get the job done, can go as high as $1,500 though.

3. What country YOU will be buying YOUR parts from.
USA. I am fortunate enough to have a Micro Center within short driving distance.

4. IF you're buying parts OUTSIDE the US, please post a link to the vendor you'll be buying from.
N/A

5. IF YOU have a brand preference. That means, are you an Intel-Fanboy, AMD-Fanboy, ATI-Fanboy, nVidia-Fanboy, Seagate-Fanboy, WD-Fanboy, etc.
I've had good luck with the Intel/nVidia combos in the past and would prefer to stick with them in this build. Again, reliability matters a lot to me so working with parts I have experience with will be reassuring. :)

6. If YOU intend on using any of YOUR current parts, and if so, what those parts are.
My power supply died a month ago so I replaced it with a Corsair CX650M. I plan to keep that, otherwise going all new.

7. IF YOU plan on overclocking or run the system at default speeds.
Yes, I'll overclock but will not push it too far (did I mention I like reliable? lol). Whatever I can get with a good air cooler will be fine with me.

8. What resolution, not monitor size, will you be using?
Currently 1920x1200, might move up to 1440 though.

9. WHEN do you plan to build it?