Request for feedback: doing research on distributed computing projects

summima

Apr 29, 2014
Hi All!

I’m a researcher working on a project looking at distributed computing projects. I'd absolutely love to get your expertise and input to a few questions I had:

Incentives:
-What makes participating in distributed computing projects appealing?
-What are the most common incentives that get participants to join? To stay? (e.g., teams can earn points – is there more than just bragging rights? Cash incentives? Prizes? T-shirts? Etc.).
-Do any distributed computing projects have disincentives? That is, they punish participants somehow (e.g., if a user's bandwidth is too slow or if their connection is spotty, they get points removed)

Participants:
-What are the main reasons you see that participants joining?
-How do you find, entice, recruit, retain participants?
-What are the main reasons you find for participants leaving?
-How technically savvy do participants need to be? (are there technical requirements?)

Types of projects
-What are characteristics that make for a good distributed computing project? (e.g. can break it down into small pieces, can run in parallel, connection needs, etc.?)

Any other insights?

I really appreciate any answers you can provide. It would be tremendous help to get your insights and feedback.

Thank you!

Sincerely,
summima

Assimilator1

Elite Member
Nov 4, 1999
Hi Summima & welcome to the forum :).

Before I answer the questions I can, I'm curious, who do you work for? Or are you a student or a freelancer?

Anyhow,
Incentives:-
1. Being able to participate in science & advance the chosen subject.
2. Hmm, well I haven't recruited in years but, talking about the friendly & helpful team members was a major point as far as joining TA was concerned.