• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

Question Replacing Windows Server Domain Controller : Will it use previous desktop user profiles?

b4u

Golden Member
Nov 8, 2002
1,378
2
81
Hi,

I've been searching info around the web but with limited success to clarify my questions.

I had a Windows Server that crashed, it was a domain controller in a small network. I now have a new Windows Server up and running, which happens to have the same name and IP address. The domain name is the same and the user login accounts are also the same as before (although user account will have a distinct SID from the previous server installation).

Now, the desktops should be re-joined to the new domain server. I'll follow the bellow steps for each desktop:
1. Login with the local administrator account;
2. Join the desktop to a workgroup;
3. Restart if needed (most probably);
4. Login with the local administrator account (again);
5. Join the newly created domain (using domain administrator login).

Some definitions:
- server: SRVDOM1
- desktop: DESKTOP1
- domain name: OFFICEDOM
- user account: OFFICEDOM\user1
- I'm not using remote profiles.

I believe that should be it, but I have a big question here ... what will happen with the current user profiles?

For instance, even though DESKTOP1 is not part of the new domain OFFICEDOM provided by the new SRVDOM1 machine, I can still connect with OFFICEDOM\user1 using it's previously defined password, since it is "cached" locally on DESKTOP1.

When I re-join the OFFICEDOM domain, now using the new SRVDOM1 server, the user profile for OFFICEDOM\user1 is already defined in DESKTOP1.
What will happen?
A. Will it use it and keep user settings, documents, wallpaper, etc?
B. Will it clear all DESKTOP1 profile contents?
C. Or will it create a parallel profile, like OFFICEDOM\user1(2) with the new settings (note the "(2)" as when we copy a file to the same folder)?


Thanks.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY