Remote login to 10.7

Discussion in 'All Things Apple' started by GWestphal, Dec 12, 2012.

  1. GWestphal

    GWestphal Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to be able to log in to my computer running 10.7.4 at home from a different location using a Windows client.

    I've tried built in VNC Screen Sharing, but it just doesn't work. I can get a login screen, but it won't allow the input of a password.

    I've tried VINE server, but I could never get a windows client to connect to it.

    I'm pretty sure I have all the router stuff set up right. I have ports 5900-5901 forwarded to my Mac box. I have a Virtual Server setup forwarding public side to my Mac box.

    I've looked through lots of articles on Apple forums, but I can't seem to find a solution.

    Anybody have this working?
     
  2. KeithP

    KeithP Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    Messages:
    5,148
    Likes Received:
    3
    Logmein.com has a free version that should do what you want. You install their software on the computer you want to access remotely. Then, you go to their web page, sign in to your account and you should be able to to start a remote session.

    Windows to Mac, Mac to Windows, Linux probably works as well. They also have iOS and Android apps.

    I have been using the free version for a number of years and it works well.

    -KeithP
     
  3. GWestphal

    GWestphal Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks that seems to be working locally, we'll see how the performance is from over the net.
     
  4. jalaram

    jalaram Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another vote from me. I've used it many times over the local network and the internet to connect to my SL, Lion, and ML Macs.

    I'm hoping to try Splashtop for local network remote control soon since I've heard that it's performance is pretty good.
     
  5. dave_the_nerd

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    97
    ...do you have the firewall on the mac turned off? Built-in VNC works fine for me.
     
  6. GWestphal

    GWestphal Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I had tried it with the firewall and little snitch turned off as well. The problem is from connecting from a windows vnc client to the machine. It's widely reported to be broken. You can get the login screen to pop up, but you will be unable to enter the password or you'll be able to login once, but not subsequent times, also not being able to log in if there is a console session (which is the whole point!).
     
  7. GWestphal

    GWestphal Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried both logmein and TeamViewer, both are great services. TeamViewer is completely free but requires an install. Where logmein is through any browser and costs 50/year, which for the elegance of it is probably worth it.
     
  8. dave_the_nerd

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    11,620
    Likes Received:
    97
    Try finding a third-party VNC server that also supports web connections.
     
  9. KeithP

    KeithP Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    Messages:
    5,148
    Likes Received:
    3
    Do you need the Pro version of Logmein? I have always found the free version to be adequate.

    -KeithP
     
  10. GWestphal

    GWestphal Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe they don't off a full free version anymore. There is a 30-day free trial, unless I'm missing something.
     
  11. umrigar

    umrigar Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. dawks

    dawks Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 1999
    Messages:
    5,054
    Likes Received:
    0
    They certainly do offer a free version. I'm using it on 70 computers. Normally they ask when you download if you'd like to trial the Pro version. After the 30 day trial is up, it down-grades to the free version and continues to work.

    The pro offers system statistics, and higher bandwidth for 'HD streaming'. If you just need remote access, free is fine.
     
  13. GWestphal

    GWestphal Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2009
    Messages:
    1,120
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool, that's all I really need. Thanks for clearing that up.
     
  14. Theb

    Theb Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,525
    Likes Received:
    4
    TeamViewer has a portable executable so it doesn't have to be installed, but you do have to carry it around with you or copy the executable onto every computer you want to connect from.
     
Loading...