Refinishing My Kitchen Cabinets - Unsure what topcoat to use

z1ggy

Lifer
May 17, 2008
Having trouble deciding on if I should use lacquer or an alternative such as Benjamin Moore Advance or Sherwin Emerald. As far as lacquer goes, Sherwin won't sell me a solvent based pre-cat (their Hi-Bild) unless I'm a contractor with a paint booth, due to VOC's. It seems like General Finishes has a few water based lacquers and poly's that are tintable, so I'm considering one of those as VOC is lower. The girl at Sherwin told me to use Emerald, as it's a newer product that was just reformulated and that many of her pro's are switching to it. I've used Advance many times and I can't smell anything at all when I use it.

I'll be spraying the cabinet doors and drawers but I'm thinking of rolling the cabinet bodies. I'm not sure I'll have the ability to mask off the entire kitchen for 2-3 days and spraying might disrupt the day to day, whereas rolling will be much less messy as far as prep goes.

herm0016

Diamond Member
Feb 26, 2005
roll and tip is how I did a whole kitchen with SW pro classic, it was about 5 years ago so I don't know if the emerald reformulation is similar or better. but they are both very good paints. pro classic, advance and emerald are all low VOC. some of the commercial stuff is not.

you may check out the sawmill creek forums, they have a lot of good info on this topic. the SW paints are not easy to spray for example depending on equipment and skill, but come out great with a roll and tip method. a lot of people like the GF finishes for spraying.

all depends on substrate as well, what is the current finish? do you need to grain fill? is it oil or water based? have you cleaned everything very very well with something like tsp and a deglosser? prep is the most important step.

I bought my cabinets unfinished, so it was new, raw poplar, maple and veneer panels. It came out beautiful, but i would probably not do it again. haha.

z1ggy

Lifer
May 17, 2008