Reduced Router Peering ?

polm

Diamond Member
May 24, 2001
I am studying for my BCMSN and I came across this :

http://www.cisco.com/warp/public/cc/so/neso/lnso/cpso/gcnd_wp/gcnd_wp8.gif

"Using the routed gigabit ethernet connections between the backbone switches offers the following advantages :

* Reduced router peering for additional stability and scalability"

Can someone explain to me exactly what "router peering" is , and how "Using the routed gigabit ethernet connections between the backbone switches" offers a reduction in router peering ?

yoda291

Diamond Member
Aug 11, 2001
If memory serves, router peering is simply the existence of a peering route. Normally reserved for BGP router, a peering route is the route between 2 seperate BGP devices. nowadays however, the term is so ambiguous, it could mean any route agreement. Essentially tho, figure that by making a routed gigabit connection between your core switches means you do not necessarily require routes between your distribution layer switches and all your core switches.