Recommend some Unix books

DWW

Platinum Member
Apr 4, 2003
I'm a coder but trying to learn more about Unix first so I can have a well-rounded foundation before I start coding with Unix API calls and sockets and the like (which is my goal).

Are there any essential Unix books you guys can recommend? I keep seeing "Unix Power Tools" has good reviews. "UNIX System Administration Handbook" also has high reviews too but it sounds moreso about theory?

There is an O'Reilly UNIX CD Bookshelf I've looked at (very cheap... $62 CAN) but I kind of like my books tangible... then again you don't have to bother juggling books and can just have it on your desktop while you try stuff out!

Anyhow I'd love to hear any recommendations you have :)

Ameesh

Lifer
Apr 3, 2001
forget the books, just install it on a spare box and fudge around with it, you'll get the hang of it if you arent stupid.

RaynorWolfcastle

Diamond Member
Feb 8, 2001
Originally posted by: neutralizer
Unix for Dummies? if it exists.

It's called Unix for Masochists, I believe :p.
Seriously, look at O'Reilly's books, I liked their "Running Linux" book

DWW

Platinum Member
Apr 4, 2003
Originally posted by: Ameesh
forget the books, just install it on a spare box and fudge around with it, you'll get the hang of it if you arent stupid.

Eh toyed around with NetBSD and FreeBSD for a couple weeks but think I'm still missing out lots by not reading something structured front to back.

I want to read + toy around after I read a chapter sort of deal heh.

vi edit

Elite Member
Super Moderator
Oct 28, 1999
Unix in a nutshell is a great book for all those oddball commands and strings you'll never remember but may need at some point.

Descartes

Lifer
Oct 10, 1999
I don't know of a good book for just Unix alone, but the late Richard Stevens' book on programming Unix is, or at least was, the best available. His TCP/IP Illustrated books are > * also.