Recommend low-light/concert digicam

phillyTIM

Golden Member
Jan 12, 2001
Hey guys - I haveta get a new digital camera and I want one that can take great, crisp pictures of indoor, low-light concerts.

What brand/models should I be lookin' at? I'd much like to keep it pocketable, but will go for a smaller DSLR if need be.

Currently I have a Canon PowerShot A590IS; and I just can't get it to shoot non-blurry or properly luminated concert shots. Perhaps I'm just not setting my camera controls very intelligently? I've been using digital cameras for the past 10 years and like to think that I've got a good grip using them!

Thanks in advance for your suggestions!!!

radioouman

Diamond Member
Nov 4, 2002
You'll need to get a DSLR with a very low aperture. Lower the better. f2.0 or less will be your best chance of getting good pics. I don't know if any point and shoot cameras with lenses with such low apertures.

And to get the best concert pics, you'll likely need to put the camera into full manual mode. Fix the shutter speed at something reasonably fast (faster than 1/100th), fix the aperture at f1.8 - f2.2, and you might even need to focus manually since many lenses have trouble focusing in low light.

EDIT: I forgot that you'll need high ISO too. I've shot some concert pics with my Canon XSi and the 50 mm f1.8 at ISO800.

Last edited:

996GT2

Diamond Member
Jun 23, 2005
Hey guys - I haveta get a new digital camera and I want one that can take great, crisp pictures of indoor, low-light concerts.

What brand/models should I be lookin' at? I'd much like to keep it pocketable, but will go for a smaller DSLR if need be.

Currently I have a Canon PowerShot A590IS; and I just can't get it to shoot non-blurry or properly luminated concert shots. Perhaps I'm just not setting my camera controls very intelligently? I've been using digital cameras for the past 10 years and like to think that I've got a good grip using them!

Thanks in advance for your suggestions!!!