Rechargeable Batteries and Charger

Discussion in 'Console Gaming' started by Spades45, Dec 17, 2012.

1. Spades45

Spades45 Member

So I'm tired of proprietary rechargeable batteries like the Xbox 360 play and charge kit but I also am very against disposable alkaline batteries. So wasteful, it just feels wrong. I've used NiMH rechargeable battery packs in my RC kits and airsoft guns for years so I'm not new to the technology, but I am new to the general consumer use.

I want to buy some high quality rechargeable AA, AAA, and 9V batteries and a compatible charger. Any recommendations? Should I go NiMH or is it worth it to go lithium? Any specific brands to go for or avoid? Thanks in advance

2. RedRooster

RedRooster Diamond Member

Eneloops/Duraloops. Done.
    I'm using up my last pack of disposables, then hopping back on the rechargeable wagon too. Sick of wasting so much.

3. cmdrdredd

cmdrdredd Lifer

4. astrosfan315

astrosfan315 Golden Member

This is what I use as well for everything in the house...controllers, flashlights, etc.

5. Aikouka

Aikouka Lifer

I use the Eneloops as well along with the La Crosse BC-700 charger. Since the slow discharge batteries (like the Eneloops) aren't cheap, you may want to keep your eye on Slickdeals as there are usually some good deals for slow discharge rechargeables. I see the deals the most at Toys-R-Us oddly enough.

6. Doppel

Doppel Lifer

I use that lacrosse, though mine is blue. Have had it for years. I bulk buy AA/AAA when I see them on sale and use them in remotes for the tv and what not, but for regular use stuff generally seem to go with something like rayovac hybrids due to their low cost. Eneloops are very well reviewed but not terribly cheap.

7. zephyrprime

zephyrprime Diamond Member