Received for Xmas an MSI 7970 Lightning Ghz Ed

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by Paratus, Dec 25, 2012.

  1. Robin B

    Robin B Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will have my Msi 7970 Boost Edition in a few days, can rip the bios if someone is interested in a copy.
     
  2. lavaheadache

    lavaheadache Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,882
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes please
     
  3. lavaheadache

    lavaheadache Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,882
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. Fx1

    Fx1 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can someone explain the benefit of a ghz card over a normal 7970 with an overclock?
     
  5. Robin B

    Robin B Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Havent recived my card yet, will be back when i have it :)
     
  6. Eureka

    Eureka Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,828
    Likes Received:
    0
    None, really. Stock settings are all higher, about it. Potentially better cooling on those cards, but they are more expensive anyway.
     
  7. Fx1

    Fx1 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    1,207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Given the price jump its clearly not worth it then.
     
  8. Erenhardt

    Erenhardt Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2012
    Messages:
    3,138
    Likes Received:
    35
    And where is that crisis you are talking about in US?
     
  9. Paratus

    Paratus Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8,189
    Likes Received:
    75
    Hey guys I finally got around to installing my new card. I was delayed due to the extensive length of my holiday honey do list.

    Anyway, the installation was quite the ordeal. My case in the sig, I've used since my first build in 04 which was a P4 Prescott (yes that one). It would now be considered on the small size. I like it however, and have built a stand for it that works with our office furniture. Plus it passes the WAF.

    I started with a tiny 9600XT and moved up to an AGP X1950Pro but to fit my current 5870 I had to move a couple of drives around because the card and middle two drives were interfering with each other.

    Well the Lightening is even larger, in every dimension. I ended up having to take the back-plate off ,(the plate that attaches to case and surrounds the DVI and DP connectors.). After shoe-horning the card in, I had to reattach the backplate while partially mounted in the case which was a real PITA.

    Then when I went to boot up, the computer would start to boot and then turn off. It would even cycle on and off without hitting the power button.

    Turns out a wire had come loose from the power button. I temp fixed that and finally got the computer to boot.


    I haven't really put the card through its paces yet. I've only played some ME3 and SC2. Neither of which is very demanding. The card is idling at 33C and peaking below 50 during gaming which is incredible.

    I'm going to load up Skyrim tomorrow and crank all the settings and see how it fairs. I may pick up Futuremark and give that a shot.

    Other thoughts, I still need to load the MSI software and again I have the normal lightening ghz edition not the boost edition. But if someone wants the bios I'll provide it. Also on running the 12.11 beta drivers.
     
    #34 Paratus, Jan 2, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 2, 2013
  10. Robin B

    Robin B Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got my Lightning Boost Edition up and running, default clocks are 1150/1500 1.25v. The card idle at ca. 34c and hit 65c at load, havent tried to overclock it yet.

    Tried to backup the bios but got a black screen and had to reboot again after nothing had happend.
     
  11. lehtv

    lehtv Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why do you want to back up the BIOS? Also I would use GPU-Z to back it up... and I don't know how it's even possible to get a black screen doing that
     
  12. lavaheadache

    lavaheadache Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,882
    Likes Received:
    0
    woah.... they arent shy going with 1.25v for the stock clocks although you do have a boost edition. My 2 regular lightings run 1.175v. 1 of my cards will do 1200+ on the stock voltage yet my other one needs 1.275 to do 1200.
     
    #37 lavaheadache, Jan 3, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2013
  13. Robin B

    Robin B Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Asic quality is 66% on my BE, tried it at 1200 with no problem in Crysis. Will try later to see how far it will go on stock vcore (1,25v).
     
  14. lavaheadache

    lavaheadache Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,882
    Likes Received:
    0
    As far as I can tell, all of the "elite" cards have low ASIC. My 2 lightnings are 60 and 67% and my buddies matrix is 66 %.

    Supposedly this makes then Overclock high with good amounts of voltage at the expense of beefy cooling needed.
     
  15. chimaxi83

    chimaxi83 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5,565
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same here, my Lightning has a 63% ASIC.
     
  16. lavaheadache

    lavaheadache Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,882
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have yet to hear about one of these caliber of cards having a 70+. I'm not saying there are none out there but I'm willing to bet they are cherry picked to be low
     
  17. lavaheadache

    lavaheadache Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,882
    Likes Received:
    0
    what is overclocking like with your card?

    Just out of speculation based on what my cards do and what I think I know about asic, I'm guessing that you would need around 1.225 or so for a true stable 1200. I more or less pulled that number out of my arse but I have 6 7970's worth of overclocking under my belt and they all pretty much followed a trend
     
    #42 lavaheadache, Jan 3, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2013
  18. Robin B

    Robin B Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    What temps do you get under load? See my card stays at 64c at 1200 Mhz, so the cooler does a nice job.
     
  19. lavaheadache

    lavaheadache Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,882
    Likes Received:
    0
    Temps can be very game specific. Also I limit my cards 60 fps when gaming on my 30 inch since that is the most it will display anyways.

    Your temps are very similar to mine
     
  20. chimaxi83

    chimaxi83 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2003
    Messages:
    5,565
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yes sir, 1.235V for a stable 1200. Limit is around 1280 at 1.325V, not worth it to me.
     
  21. lavaheadache

    lavaheadache Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,882
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol, looks like I have asic quality to 7970 voltage/overclocking figured out
     
  22. Robin B

    Robin B Junior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tried 1250 in heaven at default vcore for the BE, but that was a no go. Heaven froze at the end, temp was 68c max.
     
  23. lavaheadache

    lavaheadache Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,882
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need upwards of 1.285 for 1250 if not more on one of my cards. I don't remember and I haven't pushed the other one that hard yet
     
  24. Paratus

    Paratus Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2004
    Messages:
    8,189
    Likes Received:
    75
    Can you guys give me some pointers for OC'ing this card?
    Other than just hitting the sliders. :)
     
  25. lavaheadache

    lavaheadache Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Messages:
    6,882
    Likes Received:
    0
    Powertune +20%

    1200 mhz core

    start at 1.275v (sounds like a lot but the card is built like a tank and can handle 1.35 and beyond). Play an intense game for a bit or run a benchmark like the AMD Leo Demo and monitor temps and check for artifacts. Hopefully and likely you are stable.

    work you voltage down from there until you reach instability and bump it back up a notch or 2.

    Ram can almost definately set and forget at 1600mhz.

    1200/1600 will give you a monster card and not be beating on it very much.

    What is your cards Asic score? Do you know how to check that?

    Load up GPU-z and right click on the top of the app, if you do it on the words (techpowerup) it'll work. A menu will pop up, scroll down to "Read asic quality" and click that. It will give you a score % number.