really need some help here

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by LeftOvers, Dec 10, 2012.

  1. LeftOvers

    LeftOvers Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im new to this hole thing but i really need some help here. I recently built my own computer prolly over a month ago. after the first few weeks or so my computer would randomly have a physical memory dump. this wont always happen every day. it may be fine for a few day but then it will happen again a few days in a row. Theres been times ill go to shut down my computer and it will happen it will also happen when im a play a game. im currently running a memory test now and a friend at work said theres a possibility that its the RAM. not really sure whats going on but would really appreciate any help before i just take it to someone to fix it an have to pay then hefty bill.
     
  2. Smoove910

    Smoove910 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    system specs please...
     
  3. LeftOvers

    LeftOvers Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    proc: intel Core i5-2500K Sandy Bridge 3.3GHz
    mobo: ASUS P8Z68-V/GEN3 LGA 1155 Intel Z68 HDMI SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard with UEFI BIOS
    RAM: CORSAIR Vengeance 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600
    vid: SAPPHIRE Radeon HD 6850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity
    HD: Western Digital WD Black WD5003AZEX 500GB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s
    Case: Rosewill BLACKHAWK Gaming ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
    P.S. : CORSAIR Enthusiast Series TX750 V2 750W ATX12V v2.31/ EPS12V v2.92 80
    D.D. : ASUS 24X DVD Burner

    Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium SP1 64-bit - OEM
     
  4. Smoove910

    Smoove910 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Off the top of my head it certainly looks like you are going down the right path by testing the RAM. That's what I think it is too.
     
  5. LeftOvers

    LeftOvers Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    kinda what i was thinking but wasnt really sure... im going to run the test over night and see what happens.. i thot the RAm cause its pretty random when the dump happens.
     
  6. Smoove910

    Smoove910 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    by chance, what is the default voltage of your ram according to Corsair? And what is you voltage set at on the motherboard?
     
  7. Steltek

    Steltek Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2001
    Messages:
    1,626
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. SMOGZINN

    SMOGZINN Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    8,759
    Likes Received:
    12
    I see you are running a i5-2500K + Z68 mb, are you by any chance overclocking? Because what you described could also be system instability caused from overheating. If that is the case you will probably run Memtest just fine, but crash when running a CPU test like Prime95.
     
  9. LeftOvers

    LeftOvers Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm at work right now so I'm not sure about what the voltage is. All I have is the free memtest. I Havnt checked to see what came up. I'm not over clocking anything. I didn't want to over clock till I had it running right with no chrases
     
  10. SMOGZINN

    SMOGZINN Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    8,759
    Likes Received:
    12
    Well, when you get home check on Memtest and if it does not show any errors download and run Prime95 which you can get free from that link.

    EDIT: You should also be running a temperature logging software like Real Temp. If it crashed, when it reboots go and look at your final temperatures and see if you were overheating. If so, then you probably do not have your heatsink seated properly.
     
    #10 SMOGZINN, Dec 11, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2012
  11. mlc

    mlc Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2005
    Messages:
    445
    Likes Received:
    0
    check out smoove910's suggestion.. about the voltage.. Sometimes the default DDR volts set in bios don't match what's recommended for the memory sticks... Pull the stick , and doublecheck what corsair states for those sticks (1.5v? etc).. and overide the bios default from its auto setting, to ensure they run at the recommended value ...
    You may want to double check the memory timings as well..while you're at it..
     
  12. LeftOvers

    LeftOvers Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok sry i wasnt able to get on yesterday it was a long day, anyway i ran memtest and an error came up. I tried to copy and past it but it wouldnt let me. i think it said something about something was able to use the RAM. im running it again rite now so i will know for sure. I also have been running core temp. an i noticed it hit 77 on core 0. looking in my computer from the side panel it looks like the heatsink fan slows way down sometimes andspeeds back up and back down. could i also have a bad heatsink? its the one that came with the processor.
     
  13. LeftOvers

    LeftOvers Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    ok well it just got an error. it say my computer can not accuretly store data in RAM. copy between 2b24d22 and 2b24d21 did not result in accurate copy
     
  14. Smoove910

    Smoove910 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2006
    Messages:
    1,184
    Likes Received:
    0
    food for thought... if you are feeding your ram low voltage, it will not perform to spec. What is your ram sposed to run at? Are they 1.5v or 1.65v sticks? If they are 1.5v and you are feeding them 1.5, try upping a little bit since there's the possibility your motherboard may be on the borderline of 1.4-ish to 1.5
     
  15. LeftOvers

    LeftOvers Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    they are 1.5 ill check bios in a sec but ive had 5 errors now in lest then 30 mins of the same thing
     
  16. LeftOvers

    LeftOvers Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    bios is at 1.518
     
  17. Ketchup

    Ketchup Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    12,594
    Likes Received:
    8
    So at least one of your memory sticks are bad, sounds like. Take one out and see what happens.
     
  18. wirednuts

    wirednuts Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    7,121
    Likes Received:
    1
    replace ram. its the most likely culprit. sucks that memtest didnt show errors, but i have seen that numerous times. memtest says ram is OK, but i have nothing but weird random issues. replace ram and BAM no hiccups anymore.

    my htpc just did that actually. i had two different brands of ram in that though, on an i3 processor.. which for whatever reason is just not a good idea...
     
  19. LeftOvers

    LeftOvers Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok we'll I decided to replace RAM. It should be in today or tomorrow. I reply to the post after a few days of it working an run men test on it