Rant - World Computing Grid scheduler

Discussion in 'Distributed Computing' started by EagleKeeper, Nov 5, 2012.

  1. EagleKeeper

    EagleKeeper Discussion Club Moderator<br>Elite Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    42,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Noticed my stats graph had not really changed.

    Looked at the running task list

    6 tasks currently queued up and running
    None less than 150 hrs
    One 350 hours.
    All have due dates from the 5th to the 10th

    Now if a day is 24 hours long (except for this past Sunday) my calculations show that my poor lappy is tied up a minimum of 6 days to 15 days for just the two.

    The lappy only has 2 CPU + the GPU.

    By turkey day, all six tasks should be completed.
    But why would I get handed/accept a 350 hour task that has a due date of the 8th. :confused:
     
  2. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,372
    Likes Received:
    34
    You have six tasks running? But only two cores? Something's not right there.

    What subproject are those long WUs from? Most WCG WUs for my 2.7Ghz G630 are around 5-8 hours each.
     
  3. EagleKeeper

    EagleKeeper Discussion Club Moderator<br>Elite Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    42,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Configuration switches running tasks every 30 minutes.
    That has caused 2 "Active" and 2 "Waiting to Run". all 4 have time accrued.
    Then there are 2 that are queued up with no time accrued.

    Last month I saw a bunch of 45 minute tasks and a few of up to 48 hours.
    I enabled the GPU usage as an experiment and now see the extra long times.
     
  4. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,372
    Likes Received:
    34
    The laptop isn't overheating and throttling, is it?
     
  5. EagleKeeper

    EagleKeeper Discussion Club Moderator<br>Elite Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    42,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will check. At present, it is usually just sitting on the table by the bed; used for 30-45 minutes in evening to respond to stuff that I should not touch at the clients.

    AT is acceptable as long as not overused and no NSFW threads :biggrin:
     
  6. EagleKeeper

    EagleKeeper Discussion Club Moderator<br>Elite Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    42,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    no real heat on the lappy
    [​IMG]

    As you can see I have 1000 hours of processing to do by tonight. with only 2 cores :(
     
  7. Rattledagger

    Rattledagger Elite Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2001
    Messages:
    2,980
    Likes Received:
    0
    From the screenshot you're running BOINC v6.10.58, together with WCG's GPU-application all the estimates with these old v6-clients can initially get severely screwed-up until enough GPU-tasks has been crunched, so chances are they'll finish much earlier than estimated. For atleast CEP2 you're guaranteed it will finish after 12 hours, since all CEP2-tasks is terminated after 12 hours cpu-time.

    Atleast at the time the GPU-application was released, most users running old v6-clients had much too short estimates since GPU was much faster than the original estimate. For you on the other hand the estimates seems to be much longer than initial, indicating your GPU is very weak.
     
  8. EagleKeeper

    EagleKeeper Discussion Club Moderator<br>Elite Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    42,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    CPU is an AMD E-450 at 1.65GHz
    Graphics is an AMD Radeon 6320

    I installed this Bionic client back in Jan.
     
  9. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,372
    Likes Received:
    34
    AMD E-series really isn't worth running GPU tasks on. At the very least, I found that it bogged down the Windows GUI so badly that it made the computer unusable.
     
  10. Kiska

    Kiska Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    3
    With the boinc version you are running it tends to miscalculate the run time of the workunits so I recommend you upgrade to a minimum 7.0.28 for more accurate time estimates
     
  11. EagleKeeper

    EagleKeeper Discussion Club Moderator<br>Elite Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    42,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    This I have found. I go and shut off the GPU option because I could not even get a DVD to play properly. I will shut that option off permanently.

    Also will post the task list this evening to see what 24 hrs of clock time is delivering.

    Will do
     
  12. EagleKeeper

    EagleKeeper Discussion Club Moderator<br>Elite Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    42,600
    Likes Received:
    0
    6.10.58 is what is being presented to me by the BIONIC web site
     
  13. Kiska

    Kiska Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    3
    #13 Kiska, Nov 6, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 6, 2012
  14. EagleKeeper

    EagleKeeper Discussion Club Moderator<br>Elite Member
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Messages:
    42,600
    Likes Received:
    0