ram upgrade question

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by g1981c, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. g1981c

    g1981c Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi i have this motherboard:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...pk=z77a%20gd65

    and this ram ( 2 sticks, total of 8 gb )

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231445

    and i want to add two more 8 gb crucial sticks for a total of 24gb ( for use with Vegas Pro 11 editing HD videos ).

    now crucial says this one is compatible:

    http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartsp...DC29C3A5CA7304

    but i want to do a light overclock on my 3770K ( to about 4.2 ghz ) and i never overclocked before so i don't know if getting this model ram would interfere with my ability to overclock ?

    i can't get ram with heat spreaders because my noctua NH-U9B cooler is blocking the ram slot closest to CPU - or rather it will only allow a ram stick in there that is without a heatsink.

    i hope my question is clear ? if not please let me know.
     
    #1 g1981c, Jan 8, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2013
  2. g1981c

    g1981c Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. kbp

    kbp Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    I personally would match the RAM even if one had to buy all new. Can you remove the heat speaders? I am sure they are not really needed.
     
  4. g1981c

    g1981c Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    i wouldn't want to remove the heat spreaders.

    if i get different ram and it causes a conflict with old one - i can always remove or replace old one, and either way i would have at least double the ram.

    my question is - what, if any, special considerations are there for ram for overclocking ? for example - will i need faster than 1,600 mhz ram ?
     
  5. bryanl

    bryanl Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,128
    Likes Received:
    3
    Is this the reason?

    [​IMG]
     
  6. g1981c

    g1981c Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    hahaha ! ! !
     
  7. g1981c

    g1981c Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyway i did some research, as well as overclocked to 4.2 ghz for a test, and i consider this question resolved. since i have a K series CPU i don't need any special ram.

    i ordered this:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231560

    even though it won't fit under the heatsink fan i will just move the fan to the other side of the heatsink.

    hope it doesn't cause problems with the ram i already have installed.
     
  8. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    1
    You just downclock the memory frequency. Add a little vcore and your set.
     
Loading...