ram upgrade question

Discussion in 'Memory and Storage' started by g1981c, Jan 8, 2013.

  1. g1981c

    g1981c Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi i have this motherboard:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...pk=z77a%20gd65

    and this ram ( 2 sticks, total of 8 gb )

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231445

    and i want to add two more 8 gb crucial sticks for a total of 24gb ( for use with Vegas Pro 11 editing HD videos ).

    now crucial says this one is compatible:

    http://www.crucial.com/store/mpartsp...DC29C3A5CA7304

    but i want to do a light overclock on my 3770K ( to about 4.2 ghz ) and i never overclocked before so i don't know if getting this model ram would interfere with my ability to overclock ?

    i can't get ram with heat spreaders because my noctua NH-U9B cooler is blocking the ram slot closest to CPU - or rather it will only allow a ram stick in there that is without a heatsink.

    i hope my question is clear ? if not please let me know.
     
    #1 g1981c, Jan 8, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 8, 2013
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - upgrade question Forum Date
    Upgrading HDD to SSD question about M.2 drives Memory and Storage Apr 6, 2017
    Upgrading to First SSD, Questions Memory and Storage Feb 3, 2017
    Upgrading HTPC *large raid array question Memory and Storage Sep 5, 2015
    Upgrading to SSD question/s Memory and Storage Mar 10, 2015
    HDD upgrade question... Memory and Storage Feb 8, 2015

  3. g1981c

    g1981c Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. kbp

    kbp Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    I personally would match the RAM even if one had to buy all new. Can you remove the heat speaders? I am sure they are not really needed.
     
  5. g1981c

    g1981c Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    i wouldn't want to remove the heat spreaders.

    if i get different ram and it causes a conflict with old one - i can always remove or replace old one, and either way i would have at least double the ram.

    my question is - what, if any, special considerations are there for ram for overclocking ? for example - will i need faster than 1,600 mhz ram ?
     
  6. bryanl

    bryanl Golden Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    3
    Is this the reason?

    [​IMG]
     
  7. g1981c

    g1981c Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    hahaha ! ! !
     
  8. g1981c

    g1981c Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2012
    Messages:
    123
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyway i did some research, as well as overclocked to 4.2 ghz for a test, and i consider this question resolved. since i have a K series CPU i don't need any special ram.

    i ordered this:

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231560

    even though it won't fit under the heatsink fan i will just move the fan to the other side of the heatsink.

    hope it doesn't cause problems with the ram i already have installed.
     
  9. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,518
    Likes Received:
    2
    You just downclock the memory frequency. Add a little vcore and your set.