Radeon HD 7950 Owner's Thread

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by zaydq, Jul 21, 2012.

  1. Smartazz

    Smartazz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    I figured out the best clocks for me. 1GHz at 1.1 volts and 1.3GHz memory is very quiet and still provides great performance.
     
  2. Bipedal Humanoid

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so I have come to the conclusion that those white flashes are 'normal' and I have nothing to worry about. Likely they are something similar to those black glitches people see in DX9 games. 'Normal' as in 'something AMD may or may not fix down the road with a driver update. I still don't know what is causing those white flashes, but at least I've convinced myself for now that I don't need to RMA this card.
     
  3. Plimogz

    Plimogz Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've seen those before.

    I just ran a part of Heaven in an attempt to remember; I didn't have the flashes but I seem to remember that it had to do with the settings used.

    Try using different settings than you usually use (judging by the video you linked, I don't think tesselation is the variable). But I seem to remember that it might have been a bug and not an overclock artifact.

    (though there is the usual confusion... lol)
     
  4. Bipedal Humanoid

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2008
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    And I wasn't even running Heaven oc'd! Thanks for easing my mind.

    Other than that, here's my stable OC. (ran Hitman: Absolution for about 30 mins and Future Soldier for about 20, Future Soldier froze with the clocks up to 1175)

    Not bad for such a low ASIC score I suppose.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. thujone

    thujone Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    0
    honestly... i think asic scores don't truly correspond to a card's performance. i know mine is pretty high (can't recall off the top of my head. high 80's maybe?) but i can just barely hit 1100... and even that took some effort and i don't run it at that most of the time because of how loud it gets.

    but i also probably need better fans in my case :p
     
  6. lopri

    lopri Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    11,594
    Likes Received:
    1
    Gigabyte 3-fan model (forgot the marketing name, rofl) The temp is exceptionally good, rarely going over 55C.

    edit: WindForce! I remembered. xD
     
    #781 lopri, Jan 26, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 26, 2013
  7. makken

    makken Golden Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2004
    Messages:
    1,476
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone getting stability issues with the 13.1 WHQL drivers? I updated from 12.11 beta and have gotten a couple display driver crashes and BSODs while gaming
     
  8. lehtv

    lehtv Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    That Gigabyte model is typically very receptive for over voltage. I have read that even a voltage of 1.25-1.30V is nothing to fuss about, it's good for 24/7 use. Most likely your stock voltage is well below that - can you check what MSI Afterburner says (unlock voltage control in the settings)?

    Given your excellent temperatures, I would not hesitate to climb to 1.2V with MSI Afterburner and finding the highest clocks for that voltage. Remember to also monitor VRM temperatures with GPU-Z, keep them below 90C and you're good. The VRM temperatures will be the first to rise with increased voltage.
     
  9. Elcs

    Elcs Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    6,207
    Likes Received:
    1
    I cannot get 1000 mhz stable core with my XFX Double D (tested in Crysis 2, MWO, Star Conflict and Hawken. All crash). This is with 1.030v voltage. Temps hit 66-67C and don't go over that. Using +20% PowerTune as well.

    Tried on the 12.11 Beta 11's, 13.1's and 13.2 Betas.

    Trixx seems to let me go up to 1.130v. Might see how far I get with that. MSI Afterburner does not unlock voltage control despite how much I prod, poke and Google it.
     
  10. lehtv

    lehtv Lifer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,509
    Likes Received:
    0
    1.030V is not much for a 7950 at all, though I'm not familiar with how XFX cards handle voltage. The DD cooler isn't up to par with Windforce or Dual-X but your core temperature - also remember to check VRM temps with GPU-Z - suggests that the maximum 1.13V is doable. Assuming of course that the card isn't voltage locked. Even though trixx allows for it, adjusting the slider may not actually have any effect, this seems especially possible if you can't adjust voltage in AB.
     
    #785 lehtv, Jan 27, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 27, 2013
  11. lopri

    lopri Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2002
    Messages:
    11,594
    Likes Received:
    1
    Oh, I did fiddle with voltages when I first got the card. I know it could do more. It's my subjective decision to use the card overclocked under stock voltage. (which I believe to be 1.05V under load)
     
  12. Rhezuss

    Rhezuss Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    2
    So is the 7xxx series having that much issues? (artifacting, stuttering, flashes, etc?)
    The game bundles are so nice that I would get a 7950 right about now but those issues will annoy me too much I know it...
     
  13. hjalti8

    hjalti8 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had texture flickering in dx9 games with the 12.11 driver. I dont remember if the 13.1 driver had the same problems but the 13.2 beta got rid of the flickering and has been solid so far.

    I can't comment on the stuttering since I never played the affected games but according to techreport it has been fixed with the 13.2beta: http://techreport.com/review/24218/a-driver-update-to-reduce-radeon-frame-times/2
     
  14. Clump

    Clump Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Last night I installed a MSI R7950 Twin Frozor that I ordered from Newegg the day before.

    Here's the unexpected - I noticed in afterburner that the core is clocked at 960 MHz and the memory is 1250. This is un-messed-with.

    Verified with GPU-Z:
    [​IMG]

    It was supposed to be 880/1000. I'm not complaining, but I can't find reference anywhere to an increase in the default clocks.

    Anybody else seen any like this>
     
  15. Grooveriding

    Grooveriding Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    7,725
    Likes Received:
    3
    Just bought the same card from newegg and it should be here tomorrow. I will post here what the stock settings are on it.
     
  16. spinejam

    spinejam Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    3,452
    Likes Received:
    0

    Nope -- and I've had ~10 of 'em! :biggrin:

    Let us know how she overclocks -- tia.
     
  17. Rhezuss

    Rhezuss Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    2
    I guess a Gigabyte HD7950 for 289CAD including Bioshock Infinite and Crysis 3 coupons is considered a damn sweet deal? :p
     
  18. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    will have mines soon
     
  19. hjalti8

    hjalti8 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2012
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    its a nice deal but I am pretty sure that card is voltage locked so if that matters to you I would try and find a twin frozr 7950
     
  20. Rhezuss

    Rhezuss Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    2
    Nah, doesn't really matter since I don't OC like hell. My current 6950 is OCed with CCC lol so no need to have an unlocked voltage.

    I just placed the order, too sweet a deal to pass on it. The 2 games included are so cool too and for under 300 bucks for a 7950, it is a no brainer.
     
  21. Grooveriding

    Grooveriding Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    7,725
    Likes Received:
    3
    Well I received my MSI TF3 7950 today. Actually got lucky and got one with a 7970 PCB. Unfortunately newegg did not include the game codes. Apparently there is some issue on the newegg.ca website where none of the promotion items are included when you complete a order...

    haha, newegg won't provide the codes either. Going to return this thing.. fail on newegg's part.
     
  22. Grooveriding

    Grooveriding Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2008
    Messages:
    7,725
    Likes Received:
    3
    Success! After some escalation with newegg they realized there is an issue with the game codes not being provided since the SKU shows out of stock on newegg.ca even though there is stock available. They've agreed to give me a code once the issue is fixed and they show in stock on the Canadian site.

    My card also has 960/1250 clocks and is on an AMD reference 7970 PCB.

    [​IMG]


    I had a 7850 in this machine before and didn't really do much tweaking on it. Going to see what this one can do with some voltage.
     
  23. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    would love to see what clocks you achieve as i to just bought a MSi Twin Frozr III HD 7950
     
  24. Rhezuss

    Rhezuss Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2006
    Messages:
    4,037
    Likes Received:
    2
    Best drivers to use with the 7950 would be the 13.2 beta?
     
  25. Clump

    Clump Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guess that's the new standard. Kind of odd that MSI doesn't mention it.

    Thanks for clearing that up. From what I know mine isn't the 7970 PCB, it has 2 x 6 pin power connectors.