Radeon HD 7950 Owner's Thread

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by zaydq, Jul 21, 2012.

  1. mablo

    mablo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'll check. What's best to test stability? Furmark or Heaven?


    I gotta say this cooler is amazing. Did a 15min Furmark run on stock clocks/voltage(925MHz/1125Mv and max temp was 63c, VRM didn't exceed 62c. It was also almost inaudible over my case fans.

    Edit: Also I think the flickering is unrelated to clocks. Got it again in Arma2 with stock clocks. Driver issue maybe, I'm running 12.11beta6, which I haven't used before. Did a driver sweep before install.
     
    #576 mablo, Nov 12, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2012
  2. tigersty1e

    tigersty1e Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,961
    Likes Received:
    0
    you probably have the version with 1.5 volts on the memory.

    trixx will probably let you increase volts to 1.6 volts though.
     
  3. Face2Face

    Face2Face Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2001
    Messages:
    3,976
    Likes Received:
    137
    I would use Heaven. Furmark is a little unreasonable.

    Try dropping to the 12.10's
     
  4. stylez777

    stylez777 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I got to install my MSI TF3 7950 tonight and play a little here a screenshot:

    [​IMG]


    I was able to get it to run without crashing a 1200mhz core (with stock mem clocks) but I got some artifacts. I think with some more toying around with voltage I could get it stable with no artifacts.

    The heaven benchmark results was with 1160/1500. Already this card is showing much better results than the Sapphire 7950 and no coil whine either! (keeping fingers crossed!) Keep you all updated with my progress
     
  5. RussianSensation

    RussianSensation Elite Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    19,460
    Likes Received:
    733
    You need to enable MSI Unofficial voltage control. Put 1.175V (actual VDDC reading in GPU-Z) into the card and I am sure it'll hit 1100mhz without a problem. Based on the Legion Hardware review I posted above, at 1190mhz, HD7950 is comfortably in the lead over a stock HD7970 Ghz / GTX680. Even with your ASIC, you can still reach 1100mhz+, but it just means you'll need to pump voltage into her.

    I find Furmark to be useless for modern AMD cards. If you run Furmark full screen and then open up MSI AB, the GPU is likely going to be throttling GPU clocks significantly. For that reason, ironically it's not really a GPU demanding test. This is because Furmark is specifically hardware throttled by AMD/NV. A good synthetic alternative to Furmark is to use MSI Kombustor. I agree with you that Heaven 3.0 is better still.
     
    #580 RussianSensation, Nov 12, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 12, 2012
  6. Endymion FRS

    Endymion FRS Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    How do I enable voltage control in Afterburner? I have a Gigabyte 7950 WF3, Sleeping Dogs crashed on me at 1100mhz, and my card is at 1.09v. BF3 is running fine at 1050mhz. All of this is done through Trixx, which also will not change voltage. The sliders work, but it has no effect on the actual voltage. I'd like to raise it to the normal 1.1v and see if that helps hit 1100.
     
  7. mablo

    mablo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm returning the Sapphire card. The flickering didn't go away with 12.10 drivers. I'm getting the Gigabyte card instead. I've registered the Never Settle voucher though, I called the store and that was no problem. So now I'm getting what I originally intended.

    Russian I noticed that the card throttled in Furmark. Also it seemed like it didn't want to run at boost speeds without increasing power limit, but I'm not 100% sure about that.
     
    #582 mablo, Nov 13, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2012
  8. sze5003

    sze5003 Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    11,063
    Likes Received:
    34
    At one point I thought my card flickered but that was screen tearing for me. Does your monitor flash constantly or do you see horizontal invisible lines across the screen now and then?
     
  9. mablo

    mablo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm pretty sure it wasn't screen tearing. It was worst in dark scenes, it was slightly black horizontal lines. I even got it on my wallpaper when I ran Furmark windowed. I also got it at the same time as screen tearing in Arma 2, it looked completely different. Let's just hope I have more luck with the Gigabyte :)
     
  10. sze5003

    sze5003 Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    11,063
    Likes Received:
    34
    Yeah that sounds like artifacts. I need to go back to overclocking and trying games that way. I pretty much overclocked, saved my settings and went back to stock as I didn't feel the need.
     
  11. spinejam

    spinejam Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    3,472
    Likes Received:
    1
    Here's another MSI 7950 TFIII -- just installed last night. (MSI is on a roll -- this is the 3rd TFIII in a row that hits these clocks) :)

    ASIC 85.5

    [​IMG]

    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
     
  12. hungloww

    hungloww Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I checked the volts in MSI AB and it did show 1.549 if I remember correctly, but I could not find the option to change the memory voltage. I only saw VDDC and Board something (I think that's powertune 20%). If I can't find it maybe I will bump it up in MSI AB, by any chance you have any idea how much is usually the limit so I don't go past it.

    Thanks.
     
  13. mablo

    mablo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got the Gigabyte today. Got it stable at 1100MHz @ 1.175v in Sapphire Trixx, it crashed at 1150. Could tweak it more and haven't touvhed the memory yet.

    The flickering didn't go away though, so the Sapphire card isn't to blame. I have no idea what could cause it, it didn't happen with my 7850.

    [​IMG]
     
  14. StitchExperimen

    StitchExperimen Senior member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2012
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    4
    I'm working on building a Intel Socket 2011** My plans so far are to use a Gigabyte motherboard that got a award for new voltage delivery from Tomshardware**com at comtex 2012**

    I'm wanting to make a tri or quadFire for distributed computing in WCG cancer** I wrote a email to AMD and they said the only 7950 following their reference design to be able to do 4-way CrossFireX was Gigabyte but in asking on their forum for graphics cards I have got no reply** Also I sent in a email to technical assistance but they don't generate a response that they have even received the email question** So I was wondering if you knew since this has 3 fans to keep them cool and I was wondering if these could accept waterblocks in case the noise was to much to bear**

    Next question who to purchase a power supply from and do I rewire 2x8 connectors to become 2x6 or do I tap off the 4 wire connectors with converters to become two 2x6**

    FYI the time to process a WU (work unit) with one 7950 is about 15 seconds**

    Thanks for the knowledge and time**
    Stitch
     
  15. lehtv

    lehtv Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,799
    Likes Received:
    51
    Bad news. Turns out my Sapphire 7950 Vapor-X OC with Boost isn't stable at stock clocks. I'm thinking it's probably the memory. I don't really have a issues when gaming since the GPU is not at constant 100% load due to Vsync, but after an hour of two of Heaven, I get artifacting. The memory doesn't overclock for crap, anything above stock MHz gives artifacts really fast. The GPU doesn't OC well either. Going to send it back.

    I also dislike how the Vapor-X are voltage "locked". Basically it seems voltage is automatically adjusted by the BIOS when Power Limit is changed, so at +20 the VDDC is quite a bit higher than at 0. But there's no manual control of voltage and power limit separately, and no control of voltage beyond what power limit +20 sets it to. Probably switching to a Gigabyte triple fan card that has better VRM cooling, better voltage control and it should be quieter too.
     
    #590 lehtv, Nov 13, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2012
  16. Rikard

    Rikard Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm yes that is bad. I should get the exact same model later this week... What is your temps when you get artifacting? What is your case and fan setup?
     
  17. lehtv

    lehtv Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,799
    Likes Received:
    51
    Temps are all good (sub 60C) and I only have 3x 120mm fans. The Vapor-X cooler is extremely efficient as far as the GPU is concerned, although I've read it's not as quiet as Dual-X or Windforce. As for VRM temps, there's some issue with VRM1 on all 7950 Vapor-X's, all reports I've read say VRM1 runs hot easily which is probably why Sapphire decided to voltage lock them. Mine gets into the 90's on power limit +20.

    Hopefully you'll get a decent overclocker, the review samples made 1100MHz+
     
    #592 lehtv, Nov 13, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2012
  18. thujone

    thujone Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    1,158
    Likes Received:
    0
    so i've never had any luck with turning up the powertune/board power thing. if i turn it up to +20% i pretty much immediately crash. card overclocks and works fine otherwise though. but i'm fairly certain i have the same results at stock as i do oc'd.

    so has anyone else here had this experience or heard someone else with the same experience? i really think it might have something to do with the fact that my card is one of the 8+6 pin ones... but my psu doesn't have a 8pin connector so i'm using the 6pin>8pin adapter.

    anyone have a similar set up/experience?
     
  19. Rikard

    Rikard Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    Funny, I heard the exact opposite! :rolleyes:

    Yes, it will a nailbiting first hour!

    Using my Google-Fu skills I pulled some OC stats from reviews (skipping forum results since there are too many tossers out there):
    • Overclockersclub : 1100/1450@1.2 V
    • Techpowerup : 1135/1635@?
    • Legit reviews : 1150/1600@stock
    • Bjord3D : 1128/1655@?
    • Hexus.net : 1160/1500@+0.1 V
    Seems like you got a dud if you cant get 1100 even with increase voltage.
     
  20. mablo

    mablo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
  21. Rikard

    Rikard Senior member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2012
    Messages:
    428
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is your resolution with that old monitor? Running a brand new 7950 on anything smaller than 1080p is criminal.
     
  22. mablo

    mablo Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    It's 1080p. The monitor is 3-4 years old, it was the cheapest 1080p monitor I could get back then.
     
  23. lehtv

    lehtv Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,799
    Likes Received:
    51
    Just doing some additional digging... my card is the OC with Boost card that has a 950mhz secondary bios. Primary bios: 210P2HY-V03, secondary V04.

    By the looks of the PCB, it's the same card as in OCclub, techpowerup, legit and hexus. But Hexus and OCclub have the BIOS, 210P2HY-V02, while techpowerup has 210P2HY-X01.

    Then there's Bjorn3D whose card has a completely different PCB. Unfortunately they don't have a GPU-Z shot.
     
  24. Smartazz

    Smartazz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU-z keep reporting that there was a max voltage 1.8 on the memory with a VRM temperature of close to 130C. Either something is wrong with this card or GPUz is wrong. Any other good monitoring programs for the VRMs?
     
  25. lehtv

    lehtv Elite Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    11,799
    Likes Received:
    51
    try hwinfo64