Radeon HD 7950 Owner's Thread

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by zaydq, Jul 21, 2012.

  1. zaydq

    zaydq Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    I doubt it. 1150mhz even though is only 65mhz lower than 1215 but it makes a huge difference in benches. You're doing fine considering you're not at his exact clockspeeds.

    And m3ta1head, your heaven score is fine. Amd made optimizations to 3dmark just like they did many other games.
     
  2. zaydq

    zaydq Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    M3ta1head has an i7 and you have an i5. 3dmark11 performs better on i7s than it does on i5s. Fortunately 3dmark11 is a useless bench because most i7s dont perform much better than i5s in games.

    65mhz on the core and 500mhz on the memory makes huge number differences on benchmarks.
     
  3. zaydq

    zaydq Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let us know about the oc'ing when ya get it. Congrts!
     
  4. Smartazz

    Smartazz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. Just making sure I have no problems with this setup. I'm at 1200/1400 and still going. Very impressed with the card. Stays quiet despite being so fast.
     
  5. zaydq

    zaydq Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nice! Everyone in the past 20 pages or so is really making a case for the crazy overclocking potential of the 7950. It is an unsung hero haha.
     
  6. Smartazz

    Smartazz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Settled on 1150/1400. Unfortunately when idle the voltage stays at boost voltage(1.25) and memory clocks stay at 1400MHz. Both MSI Afterburner and Overdrive have this problem for me. Any fixes? Thanks.
     
  7. Endymion FRS

    Endymion FRS Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2012
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any disadvantage to getting a boost 7950/7970? Do they overclock like normal?
     
  8. zaydq

    zaydq Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not many people are invested into the boost models. I would imagine they would still overclock fairly well. My concern with them is they tend to pump in a lot of voltage to maintain a tiny 950mhz clock. This is also telling that they may or may not put in some of the best chips into these cards, which in turn would affect the maximum OC you could potentially get.

    You could always put a different BIOS on the card so that you no longer use the BOOST bios. The boost is simply controlled by the bios, changing it to a BIOS from another 7950 will let you completely control the voltage, and is relatively safe if you follow instructions. You have a BIOS switch that allows you to alter one, but fall back to the other in case something occurs.


    EDIT: Someone wanted to force the voltage to not spike on the forum, here is a solution that seems to work. http://forums.anandtech.com/showthread.php?t=2280813
     
    #533 zaydq, Nov 3, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 3, 2012
  9. Smartazz

    Smartazz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Since stock voltage for boost is 1.25 volts, does this mean it is a safe voltage to be overclocking with?
     
  10. Plimogz

    Plimogz Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    probably safe enough, sure. But hot and loud and likely excessive in most cases.
     
  11. Isbiten

    Isbiten Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gigabyte 7950 WF here.
    Hope it will be a long and fruitful relationship :D
     
  12. stylez777

    stylez777 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was trying to search Google for this because i know I had to take some extra steps to put a different bios on my old 5850. Anyone have a link to a guide or tutorial on how to put a non boost bios on your boost card? Is there anyhting special that needs to be done to flash a non boost Sapphire bios onto a boost version of the card?
     
    #537 stylez777, Nov 4, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2012
  13. Smartazz

    Smartazz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does having huge memory overclocks help with Heaven benchmark scores? I can't really get past 1500MHz on the memory.
     
  14. tigersty1e

    tigersty1e Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,958
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't seem to get memory voltage to work with afterburner and my msi 7950 tf3. when I change the mem voltage slider and apply, the readings from gpuz, afterburner and hwinfo don't change from stock 1.6 volts.

    I can change the core voltage fine. so either this card doesn't support men voltage or I'm doing something wrong.

    any help?



    Posted from Anandtech.com App for Android
     
  15. sze5003

    sze5003 Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10,233
    Likes Received:
    6
    MSI afterburner didn't work for me. You need to go to the settings and unlock voltage check mark there. I use trixx for my overclock.
     
  16. Smartazz

    Smartazz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    At some point my VRMs hit over 130C but I don't know when it was. Is it okay if it was for a short period of time? I've been watching it now and it stays in the 70s.
     
  17. Plimogz

    Plimogz Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    What, with Heaven or Furmark? either way, 130C is just plain too much. Is this at 1.25 VGPU?
     
  18. Smartazz

    Smartazz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't remember. I just checked GPU-Z which I left on and it reported the max temp of the VRM to be 130C. Granted that is way too much, but is my card okay after being subjected to that?
     
  19. Plimogz

    Plimogz Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2009
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you card looks, sounds, smells and renders fine, it'll be fine. A figure often quoted as maximum VRM temperature is 125C. And that would be max rated temperature for long term use. So just peaking at or above it for a little while shouldn't be seriously deteriorating anything. But, long term, I would never run my VRMs (or in this case VRM#1, as it seems to always be a good deal hotter than the second one) above 100C.
     
  20. Smartazz

    Smartazz Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2005
    Messages:
    6,128
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thanks. Temps aren't anywhere near that as I've watched it. Makes me think I can raise the voltage 1.23 volts and try to overclock some more. Any idea what the power consumption of these cards are at these high overclocks?
     
  21. zaydq

    zaydq Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Use a 7970 bios. It has been touted to work and you'll probably find a guide easier to do it.
     
  22. zaydq

    zaydq Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Are you sure GPU-Z isn't stating that the max it reads is 130? Use HWinfo64 since imo GPU-Z can give some shitty results at times.
     
  23. zaydq

    zaydq Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    I really wouldn't suggest playing with the memory voltage on your card.
     
  24. tigersty1e

    tigersty1e Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,958
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm stable to 1850mhz with my ram. error detection (decreased performance) doesn't kick in until 1900. 1.5v is supposed to be stock but my card came in at 1.6v. I want to run my ram at 1600 and tighten down the voltage.

    so do you know how the answer to my question?


    Posted from Anandtech.com App for Android
     
  25. stylez777

    stylez777 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ya I am going to mess around with the card it should be coming in today. I don't like the fact that the boost bios pumps 1.25v into the card to gain a meager 925mhz overclock (especially hearing others are reaching 1100-1200mhz with 1.1ish volts). If I can flash to a new bios that is a non boost bios that uses less volts and then overclock to my liking i'd prefer that. If it's not possible I may just exchange it for a non boost version of a card.