• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

Radeon 2GB 6950 AMD Overdrive**screen splitting problem**

jjj807

Senior member
Jun 20, 2004
395
0
71
Hey guys,

My brother has a x4 955 system with a sapphire radeon 2GB 6950. He installed the latest drivers and says that the amd graphics overdrive in catalyst control is enabled. Should he disable this? He does not wish to overclock his graphics card, he is fine playing diablo the way it is now. What does the graphics overdrive do? Sorry, been away from ATI CC for awhile.

Thanks

***UPDATE*** HAVING problems:
Thanks for the reply guys. He says after an extended period of diablo 3 say over an hour or so, the screen splits in half and it appears to be rolling over from one side to the other? Everything works, nothing is frozen but the screen is flipped/split and when he restarts his computer it goes back to normal. This happens when both graphics overdrive is on and off. He has the current version of Catalyst 12.4 and even rolled back to 12.3, same problem. The card is a sapphire 6950 factory oc 2 fan model, with a core clock of 820mhz, he scaled it back to 800 in amd overdrive to see if that was causing this and it still happened. Any ideas what this could be?

System is x4 955 not overclocked, 8gigs ddr3 1600, antec earthwatts 650 psu, asus m4a79xtevo mb, windows 7 64-bit. Acer 22 inch monitor 1680 x 1050 resolution

Worried his power supply may be the culprit? Its a solid unit that powers a 6950 in one of my friends systems just fine. Idk

Thanks in advance!
 
Last edited:

Jaydip

Diamond Member
Mar 29, 2010
3,691
20
81
Hey guys,

My brother has a x4 955 system with a sapphire radeon 2GB 6950. He installed the latest drivers and says that the amd graphics overdrive in catalyst control is enabled. Should he disable this? He does not wish to overclock his graphics card, he is fine playing diablo the way it is now. What does the graphics overdrive do? Sorry, been away from ATI CC for awhile.

Thanks
Leave it enabled,he can overclock later if he feels like it.
 

jjj807

Senior member
Jun 20, 2004
395
0
71
Thanks for the reply guys. He says after an extended period of diablo 3 say over an hour or so, the screen splits in half and it appears to be rolling over from one side to the other? Everything works, nothing is frozen but the screen is flipped/split and when he restarts his computer it goes back to normal. This happens when both graphics overdrive is on and off. He has the current version of Catalyst 12.4 and even rolled back to 12.3, same problem. The card is a sapphire 6950 factory oc 2 fan model, with a core clock of 820mhz, he scaled it back to 800 in amd overdrive to see if that was causing this and it still happened. Any ideas what this could be?

System is x4 955 not overclocked, 8gigs ddr3 1600, antec earthwatts 650 psu, asus m4a79xtevo mb, windows 7 64-bit. Acer 22 inch monitor 1680 x 1050 resolution

Worried his power supply may be the culprit? Its a solid unit that powers a 6950 in one of my friends systems just fine. Idk

Thanks in advance!
 
Last edited:

arkcom

Golden Member
Mar 25, 2003
1,814
0
76
I just returned a PowerColor 6950 that was doing that. It quickly got worse, to the point I couldn't even get into windows.
 

jjj807

Senior member
Jun 20, 2004
395
0
71
I just returned a PowerColor 6950 that was doing that. It quickly got worse, to the point I couldn't even get into windows.
Have you gotten a replacement yet? Is this through newegg?

Thanks for the response
 

Jaydip

Diamond Member
Mar 29, 2010
3,691
20
81
Thanks for the reply guys. He says after an extended period of diablo 3 say over an hour or so, the screen splits in half and it appears to be rolling over from one side to the other? Everything works, nothing is frozen but the screen is flipped/split and when he restarts his computer it goes back to normal. This happens when both graphics overdrive is on and off. He has the current version of Catalyst 12.4 and even rolled back to 12.3, same problem. The card is a sapphire 6950 factory oc 2 fan model, with a core clock of 820mhz, he scaled it back to 800 in amd overdrive to see if that was causing this and it still happened. Any ideas what this could be?

System is x4 955 not overclocked, 8gigs ddr3 1600, antec earthwatts 650 psu, asus m4a79xtevo mb, windows 7 64-bit. Acer 22 inch monitor 1680 x 1050 resolution

Worried his power supply may be the culprit? Its a solid unit that powers a 6950 in one of my friends systems just fine. Idk

Thanks in advance!
What is the temp?
 

jjj807

Senior member
Jun 20, 2004
395
0
71
according to speedfan and gpu-z during the game when he alt tabs its between 50 and 60 c
 
Last edited:

jjj807

Senior member
Jun 20, 2004
395
0
71
From ebay. I bought a Sapphire :eek: to replace it, not here yet.

Thinking about canceling and getting a 7850.
Well I guess if your new card works then I should definitely RMA. Any chance it could be the power supply or even his 22 inch Acer Monitor, 1680 x 1050 resolution? I should mention the card before was a radeon 4890 that worked fine for about 2 years.

He dropped the clock from 820/1250 (cant go any lower than 1250 in amd overdrive) to 790/1250, and is going to test that out.

Should he ride the fans at 100% while in game? I dont know if the auto setting is kicking them up to full 100%

Thanks
 
Last edited:

jjj807

Senior member
Jun 20, 2004
395
0
71
anybody have any ideas?

1) Diablo 3 game issue bug
2) Driver issue
3) bad video card
4) failing psu
5) bad monitor
 

cmdrdredd

Lifer
Dec 12, 2001
26,840
280
126
That happened to my 6950 as well. It wasn't the PSU or monitor or a specific game. It did it sorta randomly. After it was put under a heavy load sometimes the driver would panic. If I remember right, it's related to memory clock. Are you running this card unlocked or in an overclocked state? If your memory is clocked too high then this error happens on those cards. I had overclocked too far and when I went to 1330Mhz memory or below, it would not happen.

Dial back down the memory clock a bit using Sapphire TRIXX. Could also try giving the card more voltage in TRIXX as well.
 

arkcom

Golden Member
Mar 25, 2003
1,814
0
76
It's either 2 or 3. Probably 3.

I don't think it's the power supply, because mine works fine with older, bigger cards.

There are a few people around online that had this screen splitting problem, and I think most ended up RMAing them.
 

jjj807

Senior member
Jun 20, 2004
395
0
71
hmm ok. Nothing is overclocked. I have been using catalyst to underclock the core to 800 from 820.

I can use trixx to dial down from 1250? to say 1200? I really hate to underclock a brand new card.

The voltage idea sounds interesting. Maybe return to stock clocks 800/1250 and bump voltage? What should i bump the voltage to in trixx? What should this card run at? Also, should i have the fans run at 100% in game always?

Thanks for your helpful responses!
 

jjj807

Senior member
Jun 20, 2004
395
0
71
I'll throw this out there, maybe try a fresh windows install to remove any driver errors. I know he had old catalyst versions he kept installing over. Do this if the voltage adjustment fails.

Last ditch effort before the rma?
 

cmdrdredd

Lifer
Dec 12, 2001
26,840
280
126
Well, put the voltage slider in Sapphire TRIXX all the way up and set the AMD overdrive at +20% or whatever max you are allowed. Then try it. If it's still an issue I'd replace the card.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS