R.I.P. - my dog.

Fausto

Elite Member
Nov 29, 2000
One of my two dogs died early Friday morning. I quite literally brought him and his littermates into the world (I was a vet tech assisting with a spay that turned into a doggie c-section). My then-girlfriend (now wife) and I brought him home and took turns getting up every couple hours to mix formula for him. That was almost 15 years ago. He took his last breath in my arms around 1am on Dec 1. :(

Blue collar. His brother has been quite clingy since, but seems to be doing well otherwise.

Sorry for a downer thread, but I'm feeling the need to share. I feel like I've lost a kid or something.

moshquerade

No Lifer
Nov 1, 2001
:(
rose.gif

sorry for your loss Fausto. it's one we dog owners all have or will have to face.

Fausto

Elite Member
Nov 29, 2000
Originally posted by: moshquerade
rose.gif

sorry for your loss Fausto. it's one we dog owners all have or will have to face.
I know. I've just always been in denial about these guys.

We had to have "the talk" with our daughter as well. She was pretty devastated, but seems to be working through it (ie- she's talking with us about it rather than just corking it up).

moshquerade

No Lifer
Nov 1, 2001
Originally posted by: Fausto
rose.gif

I know. I've just always been in denial about these guys.

We had to have "the talk" with our daughter as well. She was pretty devastated, but seems to be working through it (ie- she's talking with us about it rather than just corking it up).
dogs are legitimate members of your family. you'll have to go through a grieving process just like if you lost a human.

heck, it isn't even my dog and i feel bad.

MmmSkyscraper

Diamond Member
Jul 6, 2004
dogs are legitimate members of your family. you'll have to go through a grieving process just like if you lost a human.

I used to share a house with a married couple. One of their dogs died during the night and the next day the husband looked like he'd gone 20 rounds with Tyson :(