Quitting a job I never really had

Modular

Diamond Member
Jul 1, 2005
So I've been training for this consulting position for about 3 months. At first it was going well, but now that I'm out in the "field" things are going downhill. I have yet to sign a contract with the company and have a meeting today in which I will be telling them the position is not for me. It's strange really, we've spent so much time in meetings and training that I feel bad for springing this on them, but I've gotten better offers at other places that have better security and a higher base pay. Still, parting will be strange and I'm hoping that I don't meet too much resistance. Any tips for me? The last time I quit a job was 8 years ago in high school. I'd rather not burn this bridge as I do feel as though I can be successful in that business, just not at this point in my life. FWIW it's a financial consulting position.

BeauJangles

Lifer
Aug 26, 2001
Sounds like you'll be burning some bridges if you're skipping out after getting 3 months of training.

bonkers325

Lifer
Mar 9, 2000
quitting after 3 months of training = burnt bridge and red flag for future job apps/interviews. employers dont look to kindly on people who leave after only 3 months...

BeauJangles

Lifer
Aug 26, 2001
Originally posted by: bonkers325
quitting after 3 months of training = burnt bridge and red flag for future job apps/interviews. employers dont look to kindly on people who leave after only 3 months...

I think if the OP had been there for a few weeks of training and realized it wasn't right for him, it'd be a different story, but it's not like you can just high-tail it out after THREE MONTHS. You should know whether the job is right for you or not well before then, especially if they are dedicating resources to training you.

Modular

Diamond Member
Jul 1, 2005
Let me clarify.

1. I've been working full time at another job throughout training
2. Training has been one day, every other week for an hour or two