Quick Questions About Steam??

Justinbaileyman

Golden Member
Aug 17, 2013
I am still pretty new to steam and have about 10-15 games now and before I go and buy any more, I was wondering what happens to those games if my harddrive decides to takes a dirt nap?Can I redownload those same games for free and what happens to all my saves?

irishScott

Lifer
Oct 10, 2006
Yeah you can re-download the games as many times as you like. Steam also has a built in backup feature if you'd like to store local copies.

As for your saves, depends on the game. Some sync with Steam's cloud which can act as a backup, but most are stored locally and would be lost.

Justinbaileyman

Golden Member
Aug 17, 2013
Thanks for the quick answer.. That is a relief to know my hard earned money wont go down the tube if my harddrive die's. I guess the next question would be where are the saves stored from steam on my harddrive? I am using windows 10 preview if that helps. I will back up my saves on a flash drive then soon as I find out where they are stored.

clok1966

Golden Member
Jul 6, 2004
Thanks for the quick answer.. That is a relief to know my hard earned money wont go down the tube if my harddrive die's. I guess the next question would be where are the saves stored from steam on my harddrive? I am using windows 10 preview if that helps. I will back up my saves on a flash drive then soon as I find out where they are stored.

what if Steam dies? before the Steam lovers or haters get up in arms, i have so damn many Steam games the SUMMER SALE is just a 'what you bought at full price" regret sale for me.

DaveSimmons

Elite Member
Aug 12, 2001
what if Steam dies? before the Steam lovers or haters get up in arms, i have so damn many Steam games the SUMMER SALE is just a 'what you bought at full price" regret sale for me.

What if Microsoft stops selling Windows and remotely disables all existing copies?