Questions for folks running RAID 1

Skyzoomer

Sep 27, 2007
My tower PC has a SSD for Win10 and programs, and a spinning HDD for data only. I backup both to external HDDs for safety and store the backup drives in a safe. I do backups of the data drive about every 2 weeks or even up to 1 month when I'm lazy.

But I'm interested in a real-time mirror of my entire data drive to cover hardware failures only. (No RAID 1 for my system drive) I will continue to do my safety periodic backups.

QUESTIONS:

1. Is RAID 1 the only way to get real-time mirror of my entire data drive?

2. I believe that to run RAID 1 on Win10, both the original drive and mirror drive have to be converted to dynamic disks. I've never used dynamic disks before.
..... a) When running dynamic disks, do all of the folders and files look and act exactly the same as running a basic disk?
..... b) Are the partitions on the drive the same?
..... c) IOW, does a dynamic disk have the same partitions and folder/file structure as a basic disk as far as the user is concerned?

3. What software do you use to backup your data drive since it is a dynamic disk?

4. Have you ever done a restore of that backup successfully? Any gotchas?

5. Say I set up RAID 1 using two identical HDDs now. One HDD dies 3 years from now. Will I be able to replace that HDD with another HDD of the same or greater capacity, but not an identical HDD and still have the RAID 1 work properly?

Please feel free to answer any question(s), even if not answering all of my questions.
Thanks.

nosirrahx

Mar 24, 2018
This comes up a lot so it needs to be said, RAID 1 is for downtime mitigation, not backup.

I use RAID 1 in a few systems that I need to say up and over the course of 15 years I have had a single drive failure. RAID 1 made it easy to work around the failure and rebuild while I was sleeping.