Questions about Intel Quad Cores...

evnglion

Dec 7, 2008
So... I have been sitting on my current computer since late 2002, and it has served me very well, but its time to build a new one. I ordered all my components this afternoon, so I am stoked. I do have a question though, as the processor marketplace is a bit different than it was last time I was hardware shopping.

I decided to go with the Q8200 since its using the 45nm process, and seems to be a step up from the Q6600 (I am not gonna overclock this box right away).

I noticed that this is a 64 bit processor. Does this mean I need to have a 64 bit version of Windows to get all the performance out of it? I hate that I ordered everything and didn't notice this before hand. If I *do* have to get a new copy of Windows, does everything else function the same? Does 64 bit windows run all the apps that run on legacy copies of XP, or do I need to start searching for 64 bit programs as well? Is it possible to install my normal copy of XP pro SP3 and just use the processor in 32 bit mode? If I did that, would I expect lower performance in gaming, or multitasking?

I am basically looking for someone to fill in the gaps in my 64-bit computing knowledge, as this will be the first time I have dealt with it. Or if anyone has a link handy that kinda goes over all this for me, that would be great.

Just in case, the parts I ordered are...

Intel Q8200 Core 2 Quad
Asus P5N-D Motherboard (Nvidia 750i chipset, SLi ready)
2x MSI N9600GT 512M OC GeForce 9600 GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16
8gb CORSAIR (4 x 2GB) DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 TWIN2X4096-6400C5
COOLER MASTER Real Power Pro RS-750-ACAA-A1 750W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Certified

Thanks in advance for any advice/help you can offer.

masteryoda34

Golden Member
Dec 17, 2007
Well, since you ordered 8GB of ram, you're going to want to go 64bit. The maximum amount of memory that can be recognized by any 32bit Windows OS is 4GB (2^32 bytes).