Question: should I change dorms?

skywalker66

Banned
Nov 5, 2001
Well, its been almost a month now since i moved in hear at the University of Minnesota Morris, and I am a freshman.
It's been fun so far, but one of the things that really bothered me the first week i moved here, and still kinda does is my floor.

Most people have pretty tight floors where they go to supper together, hang out in their floor lounge a lot together and have fun with each other a lot.

My floor on the otherhand, is gay. in the 5 rooms on my side of the wing, me and my roomate are the only freshman. The floor R.A. lives next to us, she's a sophmore girl, seems pretty nice. Then the other room by us is occuppied by someone who works there, who is 24 years old, and has multiple signs on his door stating he's a homosexual, also a shut-in.
The other 2 rooms are single rooms as well, with upper classmen who are really shy and shut in.
On the other end of the hall, there are 3 other freshmen rooms that are doubles, where 3 of them seem kinda nerdy and annoying, and the other 3 are never around. and then there are 2 sophmore girls and sophmore guy who are never around.

basically i feel like i got shafted. I'm kinda getting used to my floor at least. my roomate seems easy to get along with but we dont really have much in common. There are a few other decent ppl on my floor when they are around.

However, the floor above us is pretty cool. I was up there one time and they were really open and nice, and i played cards with them. lately they asked why i havent been up there recently, which made me feel good that they still remembered me, and they invited us to come up there whenever, since they are in their lounge all the time.

I didn't really find out the floor above us was nice until recently, before that i was set on the decision to move out,
if I did stay tho, i still wouldnt be actually living on their floor (something else to keep in mind)