Question on Cards: Hearts. I got all 13 harts on the draw...

Evadman

Administrator Emeritus<br>Elite Member
Feb 18, 2001
30,990
5
81
So here is the question. last night I was playing some cards and we wanted to play a few hands of Hearts and relax. Well, between the draw and the 3 card trade I ended up with all 13 hearts. This is good because it is impossible for me to win a trick, so I have to win that hand.

It is against the rules to throw a heart on the first trick, but I had no choice. So an argument ensued because there was about $200 on the table on that hand. WTF do you do?
 

kranky

Elite Member
Oct 9, 1999
21,000
111
106
If all you have is hearts, you lead hearts.

What the heck did they expect you to do? You can't lead what you don't have!
 

Evadman

Administrator Emeritus<br>Elite Member
Feb 18, 2001
30,990
5
81
Originally posted by: kranky
If all you have is hearts, you lead hearts.
What the heck did they expect you to do? You can't lead what you don't have!
They wanted to redeal.
 

mpitts

Lifer
Jun 9, 2000
14,732
0
76
Sounds like your friends didn't want to loose.

If you don't have a card in the suit of the lead card, then you can throw whatever you want.

If you would have had all diamonds and led with a diamond, they probably wouldn't have cried.
 

Gyrene

Banned
Jun 6, 2002
2,841
0
0
Yup, you can't play a point card on the first hand UNLESS it is the only type you have. I player hearts every other day last year in my computer lab for 2 hours at a time. I hate that game now.
 

Ionizer86

Diamond Member
Jun 20, 2001
5,292
0
76
Hehe, if only you had an ace in each of the other suits instead of the 2H, 3H, and 4H. That woulda been awesome to play :)
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY