Question about student loans

archcommus

Diamond Member
Sep 14, 2003
Right now I am a sophomore living in a University suite with a University meal plan. I forked out a few thousand of my own cash, and the rest was grants (free) and loans (all federal).

For the next two years I intend to live in an apartment. Rent + utilities + grocery costs should be around $680/month for my share. It would be very difficult for me to pay for this each month out of my paychecks. Are there any student loans, federal or not, I can get that come to ME in the form of a check instead of straight to the school, so I can use it for these purposes? I define a "student loan" as any loan where repayment is deferred until six months after I graduate.

Zolty

Diamond Member
Feb 7, 2005
I would contact your financial aid person to see what they can offer in your situation.

Mar 11, 2004
Well on the FAFSA you can designate that you'll be living off-campus and they'll probably up the amount you can get for loans.

I wouldn't doubt you could contact any number of other financial institutions and see if they'll offer you any type of student loan as well.

BigJ

Lifer
Nov 18, 2001
Student loans are for the complete cost of attendance. Meaning that it includes tuition, room and board, transporation, meal plan, and books. Just because you don't want to live in university housing doesn't mean you can't use financial aid to pay for living expenses associated with college.

What happens is that you apply for your student loan including the associated costs of living off campus. Depending on your lender, either you or your school will receive the check.

If you receive the check, then simply cash it and pay them your tuition; the rest is yours.