Question about a motor and if it may be bad

peonyu

Platinum Member
Mar 12, 2003
So here is the issue i am having...I have a Razor electric scooter that i ride at times and lately, the scooter is losing voltage very fast and then it runs at a crawl. It should run for 40 minutes @ about 15mph, but instead it hits 10mph and lasts only 10 minutes.

This has been something that i have been trying to resolve off and on for about 2 weeks now.

I have swapped out the batteries and the problem is still there, and i even ran the motor directly off the batteries to bypass the throttle and any switches / circuit breakers - didn't change anything and the problem persists.

So that leaves me with the motor. I tested the positive and negative wire leds coming from the motor with a volt-meter set to the Ohms setting, and it zeroed out on me...I am not a pro with motors, but i am pretty sure that that should have infinite resistance meaning that the motor is faulty. I think that this is the issue but i would like a second opinion before i order a new motor. :)

The motor btw, is just a 24v DC motor that has a sprocket on the end and the pos / negative wire leds coming from it.

Paperdoc

Platinum Member
Aug 17, 2006