Q9450 Overclocking Issues

Zambar

Mar 11, 2009
Ok guys bear with me here, I am pretty new to overclocking...

I've had my Q9450 for about half a year now and I'm just now trying to OC it. I know pretty much the basics... Increasing CPU voltage and the FSB... Now I do intend to run this processor for a good bit of time so I don't want to increase my voltage too high... but I've read people are getting up to 3.4 with the Q9450... I I'm not able to get above 2.8 with my voltage up to 1.325.... up from 1.25.... If I pump it up any higher the computer fails on its initial startup *Not even windows load*. It then restarts and disables the OC. I am running my 9450 on an x48 MB... Anybody have any ideas that can help me? 2.8 Just isn't nearly cutting it...

Zap

Elite Member
Oct 13, 1999
Have you tried lowering your memory speed?
As you raise the FSB, the memory clock goes up as well.

Nov 26, 2005
Originally posted by: Zambar
Ok guys bear with me here, I am pretty new to overclocking...

I've had my Q9450 for about half a year now and I'm just now trying to OC it. I know pretty much the basics... Increasing CPU voltage and the FSB... Now I do intend to run this processor for a good bit of time so I don't want to increase my voltage too high... but I've read people are getting up to 3.4 with the Q9450... I I'm not able to get above 2.8 with my voltage up to 1.325.... up from 1.25.... If I pump it up any higher the computer fails on its initial startup *Not even windows load*. It then restarts and disables the OC. I am running my 9450 on an x48 MB... Anybody have any ideas that can help me? 2.8 Just isn't nearly cutting it...

Your mother board and memory speed would be helpful info for starters. Cooling, ambient temps, etc

Soulkeeper

Diamond Member
Nov 23, 2001
i've found that increasing the vcore on my Q9450 does nothing but increase heat
1.25v gets me to the max on my chip

i second the idea of your memory limiting you, you gotta play with the settings