Programming languages for total newbs.

Page 3 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Tsaar

Apr 15, 2010
As a fairly recent electrical engineering graduate with some decent exposure to programming, I have only really used C/C++, Java, and Matlab.

When talking about these non-compiled scripting languages, such as Python, how do you actually get a binary, executable file without compiling?

Basically, can I code something in Python, create an executable file, and put it on my friend's computer to show him what an awesome programmer I am?

With C++ it was easy (well, *AFTER* debugging 9999999999 memory errors ;)) to just hit the compile button and have a nice file ready to be executed.

Oct 27, 2007
To execute Python code you need to have the Python runtime installed (just like you need JRE to run Java programs). Although I'm sure there's a way of compiling Python to a .exe, I just don't know it (not a Python guy myself).

esun

Platinum Member
Nov 12, 2001
Scheme's not a bad choice, and there is a wonderful free book that's meant for complete beginners to learn programming from scratch that is used by MIT and UC Berkeley for their introductory undergraduate CS courses:

http://mitpress.mit.edu/sicp/

However, nobody actually uses Scheme outside of people in those classes and some other academics (and a tiny sliver of real-world people). Hence, after learning Scheme you will almost inevitably want to learn another language anyway, so you might as well go with the other language from the get-go.

Last edited:

ObscureCaucasian

Diamond Member
Jul 23, 2006
To execute Python code you need to have the Python runtime installed (just like you need JRE to run Java programs). Although I'm sure there's a way of compiling Python to a .exe, I just don't know it (not a Python guy myself).