Professional developers: Do you get good requirements?

Gunslinger08

Lifer
Nov 18, 2001
If you're a professional developer, you have a project manager sitting between you and the client. Do your project managers gather and give to you good requirements? Are they inadequate? Do they change after being signed off? Do they even exist?

Cooler

Diamond Member
Mar 31, 2005
Most of my projects I play the dual role of Developer/project manager. I get the requirements directly form the client. It saves a lot of time this way. Also I have had clients that will change them on me when I am almost done.

Markbnj

Elite Member <br>Moderator Emeritus
Sep 16, 2005
www.markbetz.net
Most people suck at gathering requirements, and even more suck at synthesizing a system definition from them once they are gathered.

So, no, I don't usually get good requirements. But that's great, because I am a consultant who partly specializes in helping clients recover from really terrible requirements.

replicator

Oct 7, 2003
Most project managers I've worked with live in the world of MS Project and don't play much of a role in developing requirements. Usually they ask some functional lead or analyst to come up with them, who in turn comes to me. Sometimes it is good, but most of the time it is just enough, and I need to fill in the gaps. I prefer it this way because I like to understand the business objective, and the underlying processes. I like to have a clear vision of what needs to be accomplished, which allows me to identify any risks early on.

So to answer your question from my experience, they are not usually good but adequate, and yes they change after being signed off. A good project manager will know how to deal with the users to limit scope creep but some others just don't have the back bone and the developer is the one who ends up working the long hours.....

imported_Dhaval00

Jul 23, 2004