Problems using BOINC with F@H under linux, only one box

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,236
633
136
#1
So I have many boxes, but on just this one, no matter how I config BOINC (well that I know of) it takes the PPD on F@H down to half of what it was. How do I see what MHZ the CPU is running at ? I tried to install CPU-G, but now I can't get it to run. It could be something in the bios, as this is the only motherboard of its type running a 1950x (ASUS ROG STRIX Gaming).

Any help is appreciated. Linux mint 19
 

Kiska

Senior member
Apr 4, 2012
633
11
116
#2
Try:
"lscpu | grep MHz" in a terminal window
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,236
633
136
#4
well, its running at 550 mhz. One of the 3 fans on the Enermax 360 version 2 is not running, and who knows about the pump.
 

TennesseeTony

Elite Member
Aug 2, 2003
3,159
329
136
#5
What's it running at without BOINC?

Other random thoughts:
Good cooler for cheap ($10 more than I remember actually): ARTIC Freezer 33TR. I'd personally deal with the ugly green or yellow one to get the 2nd fan.
Do you have the F@H performance slider set to FULL?
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,236
633
136
#6
I saw a TR4 air cooler review, but can't find it now. Anybody ?
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,236
633
136
#7
What's it running at without BOINC?

Other random thoughts:
Good cooler for cheap ($10 more than I remember actually): ARTIC Freezer 33TR. I'd personally deal with the ugly green or yellow one to get the 2nd fan.
Do you have the F@H performance slider set to FULL?
I ordered 2 more Noctura 14s's. I have one already, I will replace it tomorrow. $79 each, but they work.
 

StefanR5R

Platinum Member
Dec 10, 2016
2,291
401
106
#9
I saw a TR4 air cooler review, but can't find it now. Anybody ?
Here is a German review:
https://www.computerbase.de/2018-12/cpu-kuehler-amd-threadripper-test-luftkuehlung/3/
  • 2990WX at stock:
    Dark Rock Pro TR4 > NH-U14S TR4 > Silver Arrow TR4 >> Wraith Ripper
  • 2990WX at 270 W:
    NH-U14S TR4 > Silver Arrow TR4 = Dark Rock Pro TR4 >> Wraith Ripper
  • 2990WX at 300 W:
    NH-U14S TR4 with 2x NF-A15 fans still works, the other coolers fail
Regarding the Arctic Freezer, here is a test of a similar model on Ryzen 1700 OC'd to 165 W:
https://www.hardocp.com/article/2018/09/10/arctic_freezer_33_esports_one_cpu_air_cooler_review/3
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,236
633
136
#10

TennesseeTony

Elite Member
Aug 2, 2003
3,159
329
136
#11
RMA it then ebay the 'new' piece of junk. But Mark, you have only said the CPU is running at 550MHz, what is the reason for that? It sounds like you believe it is the temperature of the chip, have you confirmed that? Even at idle, 550MHz is lower than any chip I've ever seen that uses a power-save mode.

@StefanR5R , that is a very unflattering review of the Arctic Freezer....I'd better go check on my ThreadRipper....No problem here, humming along at a mere 55C at 100% load. Some differences to note, I am using Arctic's MX4 paste. I was so pleased I ordered a HUGE tube of it for all future heatsink installs. That paste they are using really truly must suck, even the liquid systems were hitting temperatures that are not normal at all, 70 to 80C.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,236
633
136
#12
RMA it then ebay the 'new' piece of junk. But Mark, you have only said the CPU is running at 550MHz, what is the reason for that? It sounds like you believe it is the temperature of the chip, have you confirmed that? Even at idle, 550MHz is lower than any chip I've ever seen that uses a power-save mode.

@StefanR5R , that is a very unflattering review of the Arctic Freezer....I'd better go check on my ThreadRipper....No problem here, humming along at a mere 55C at 100% load. Some differences to note, I am using Arctic's MX4 paste. I was so pleased I ordered a HUGE tube of it for all future heatsink installs. That paste they are using really truly must suck, even the liquid systems were hitting temperatures that are not normal at all, 70 to 80C.
I went into BIOS, and it was 65c IDLE, so yes. Now under the Noctura its humming away@ factory (ASUS) OC of 3600 all cores. Not sure the temps in linux, but they must be OK.
 

StefanR5R

Platinum Member
Dec 10, 2016
2,291
401
106
#13
@StefanR5R , that is a very unflattering review of the Arctic Freezer...
To be fair, (a) the reviewer cranked the voltage way up, (b) compared to the AM4 model, the TR4 model should fare better at same power consumption because of double the die area to take heat from. Personally I would prefer a 140 mm cooler over a 120 mm cooler on a 180 W CPU though.
 

biodoc

Diamond Member
Dec 29, 2005
5,034
122
126
#14
I went into BIOS, and it was 65c IDLE, so yes. Now under the Noctura its humming away@ factory (ASUS) OC of 3600 all cores. Not sure the temps in linux, but they must be OK.
type sensors.

mark@x16-linux:~$ sensors
k10temp-pci-00c3
Adapter: PCI adapter
temp1: +61.2°C (high = +70.0°C)
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
17,236
633
136
#15
type sensors.

mark@x16-linux:~$ sensors
k10temp-pci-00c3
Adapter: PCI adapter
temp1: +61.2°C (high = +70.0°C)
I get :

mark@mark-TR5-linux:~$ lscpu | grep MHz
CPU MHz: 3603.233
CPU max MHz: 3400.0000
CPU min MHz: 2200.0000
mark@mark-TR5-linux:~$ lscpu | grep MHz
CPU MHz: 3565.207
CPU max MHz: 3400.0000
CPU min MHz: 2200.0000
mark@mark-TR5-linux:~$ sensors
asus-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
cpu_fan: 0 RPM

k10temp-pci-00c3
Adapter: PCI adapter
temp1: +68.0°C (high = +70.0°C)

k10temp-pci-00cb
Adapter: PCI adapter
temp1: +67.8°C (high = +70.0°C)

mark@mark-TR5-linux:~$ ^C


And this is at full load.
 

Similar threads



ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS