Problems booting: stalling on Windows logo

novaprospekt89

Nov 3, 2011
Hi guys,

I'm a pretty tech savvy guy but this problem has left me scratching my head.

Got home today and turned on my PC only to find that Windows 7 will not start. It was working fine the night before.

The BIOS starts up okay, and I don't get any POST errors. My RAID array starts up fine, then I get to the Windows 7 (64bit) loading screen and this is where the problem is: I get no further than that logo. The logo will continue to "breathe" so it's not a hard-lockup, but nothing happens. Let it go for well over 5 minutes and nothing. This part normally takes between 8-12 seconds, depending on whether it was a hot or cold boot.

My instincts are telling me something is wrong with the hard drive. I noticed the HD activity light is solid when it stalls and I don't hear any sounds of it reading information. I have a RAID0 array and the drives are near capacity. I don't think anything is wrong with the RAID array, but if I had to implicate something being wrong it would be the HD based on this light being on with no activity. Again, no BIOS post errors regarding HD failure.

Now, after several "resets" and "power ons/offs" I booted successfully and managed to play some video games. After an hour or two the computer froze with a "Windows 7 loading symbol" and I had to kill the power. Now I can't boot again -- the HD activity light was solid on when it froze with no sound of HD activity.

At this point I'm preparing to do a full backup if I do manage to get back into Windows again but the larger problem at hand is whether I can get into Windows period.

Oh and I tried booting without any devices connected, I know that sometimes causes boot anomalies.

Any suggestions guys?

Thanks.

volcane

Nov 1, 2011
Might be worth trying this. Take out all your RAM sticks except one, and try booting with that.