Problem with Ubuntu 10.04 and Dell Laptop

Firsttime

Platinum Member
Mar 31, 2005
Hey guys, I'm a pretty big Linux noob, just trying to get the hang of it here.

Basically during boot in either live cd or install version I get a bunch of vertical colored lines across the screen. The boot continues, after I hear the sound I can log in blind, put the computer to sleep and on wake the screen is there, with an invisible cursor haha. I thought I had it fixed, I had to type vga=771 into the boot screen before install and that seemed to fix things. But after a few restarts it was back.

This happens with both Ubuntu 10.04 and Mint 9, not Ubuntu 9.10 though.

For reference my laptop is a Dell Inspirion 1501 with ATi 1150x graphics.

Anyway, any help would be really appreciated as the parts of 10.04 I've seen look killer.

PCTC2

Diamond Member
Feb 18, 2007
Well, it's not a permanent fix, as it would be good to find the root of this issue, but after install, on reboot, hold shift to get into grub and boot to the recovery mode. Edit /boot/grub/menu.lst and add vga=771 to the correct line in the top sections and rebuild grub or just edit the entry at the bottom with vga=771. Then reboot into the normal kernel.

Nothinman

Elite Member
Sep 14, 2001
Well, it's not a permanent fix, as it would be good to find the root of this issue, but after install, on reboot, hold shift to get into grub and boot to the recovery mode. Edit /boot/grub/menu.lst and add vga=771 to the correct line in the top sections and rebuild grub or just edit the entry at the bottom with vga=771. Then reboot into the normal kernel.

Make sure you put it in the kopt line, otherwise it'll get overwritten with the next kernel update when update-grub is run.

Firsttime

Platinum Member
Mar 31, 2005