Problem with over-clocking a Q6600

brucekn

Sep 17, 2009
Mobo is a GA-X38T-GQ6, almost 2 years old running 2 X 1GB DDR3 (Mushkin PC-12800) and a Q6600. I am new to over-clocking so had a mild OC of 333 X 9 (3 GHz) on the Q6600 at 1.3V vCore, RAM at 1333 and had tightened the timings to 7-7-7-6 with 1.95V. I have been running this now for several weeks and was contemplating pushing it further when I had a lock-up the other night running FSX (flight-sim). Re-booted and noted that my BIOS had reset so that CPU Host Control was at "Auto" (266 MHz), as was the memory, all settings at Auto. I tried restoring settings to the previous config with the mild OC but on re-boot it all went back to Auto again after trying to re-boot for about 20 seconds.

I have even tried setting CPU Host Control to Manual and leaving at 266 MHz, i.e. no OC at all, but the setting goes back to Auto every time. It was doing this when I started trying to tighten timings on the RAM before I had added voltage when I first OC's several weeks ago, and I realize that this is some form of protection on the system when I push things too far, but at 333 MHz?

Cooling is air, a Thermalright after-market cooler.

Thanks for any answers. Bruce.

Ben90

Platinum Member
Jun 14, 2009
Looks like something is having problems at stock settings; if things stay on Auto is everything prime95 stable? If it isnt u might need to grab some software overclocking to isolate the problem... if it is stable maybe ur forgetting something in the bios...voltage maybe idk?

I have my money on RAM freaking out, but i have a habit of being wrong at pretty much everything recently :/

LOUISSSSS

Diamond Member
Dec 5, 2005
worse comes to worse... reset ur bios, boot into windows at default settings and stability test real quick. if all is good, go into bios and u should be fine.

brucekn

Sep 17, 2009
Thanks for the replies.