Poll: texts in the middle of the night

Page 2 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

Is it ok to email or text out in the middle of the night?

• Yes

• Yes but email only

• No

Results are only viewable after voting.

KIAman

Diamond Member
Mar 7, 2001
I leave mine on vibrate and on my nightstand. Most people who call or text me are considerate but the one time they aren't they will either be blocked or put on the silent list.

Riverhound777

Diamond Member
Aug 13, 2003
I wish there was a setting to mute texts at night, but allow calls. I don't want to be woken up by a text, but I would like a call to come through. If that's possible I haven't seen it.

Kaido

Elite Member & Kitchen Overlord
Feb 14, 2004
1. My iPhone is also my alarm clock, so I leave it on at night.

2. I work in IT, and a lot of emergencies happen at night, so I get texts in the middle of the night at least once a month.

3. From time to time I get family/friend texts in the middle of the night (especially group texts), but I mention to most people that I need my sleep & would prefer that they not text me at night when I need my sleep (and I NEED my sleep), although some people just don't get it. Luckily the iPhone has a do-not-disturb feature for specific group texts & whatnot, so if the first text wakes me up & it's not critical, I can just put that group into DnD mode.

I do not plan on working in IT forever; being able to put my phone into "sleep" mode at night & not being in a constant state of readiness mentally is one of the things I'm most looking forward to when that day comes.

shortylickens

No Lifer
Jul 15, 2003