Dawidpl

Junior Member
Sep 14, 2023
11
0
11
Hello yesterday i updated the avg antivirus free and i clicked ok and i got the avg browser . I couldnt unistall it and i found a guide in internet . At https://windowsreport.com/avg-secure-browser-cant-uninstall/ . And i typed in windows powershell this command

cd %appdata%

cd ..local

rmdir /q /s avgBrowser

rmdir /q /s %programdata%avgbrowser

And is it safe to make commands can behind this command be a virus or something dangerous please answer Or steal password or spy .
 

mindless1

Diamond Member
Aug 11, 2001
7,984
1,424
126
This is not dangerous, no it does not run a virus or anything besides deleting the folders it is (supposedly) in.

Did you not have an option to (uncheckmark?) not install the browser with the last update? If it gives you no choice but to install the browser with the update, then I would just see if being passive about updates, letting it update itself without your intervention, only updates definitions and main app but not the browser, OR just ditch AVG and use something else or just MS Defender Security Essentials etc.
 

Dawidpl

Junior Member
Sep 14, 2023
11
0
11
I clicked ok but i should close after thr update and avg always wants that people install avg browser there is always the option to install at the very bottom in small lines . They want that somebody can be thoughtful or tired and click and install it . But i thank you very much for answering and help
 

Dawidpl

Junior Member
Sep 14, 2023
11
0
11
This is not dangerous, no it does not run a virus or anything besides deleting the folders it is (supposedly) in.

Did you not have an option to (uncheckmark?) not install the browser with the last update? If it gives you no choice but to install the browser with the update, then I would just see if being passive about updates, letting it update itself without your intervention, only updates definitions and main app but not the browser, OR just ditch AVG and use something else or just MS Defender Security Essentials etc.
They update automatically even when i restart after amd graphic card or windows update . Its a information window whats new and what was updated in avg . It is something like an information after computer restart .
 

Dawidpl

Junior Member
Sep 14, 2023
11
0
11
This is not dangerous, no it does not run a virus or anything besides deleting the folders it is (supposedly) in.

Did you not have an option to (uncheckmark?) not install the browser with the last update? If it gives you no choice but to install the browser with the update, then I would just see if being passive about updates, letting it update itself without your intervention, only updates definitions and main app but not the browser, OR just ditch AVG and use something else or just MS Defender Security Essentials etc.
I heard windows defender is not enough that he dont detects bigger viruses or dangerous scripts and even worser things . Do you use defender what is your opinion
 

mindless1

Diamond Member
Aug 11, 2001
7,984
1,424
126
Security Essentials does more. That's all I'd use then if you are doing really risky things, have a partition backup but also run a sandbox.

How much malware is AVG finding? If any, you need to re-evaluate what risky habits you have and change them. Primarily, opening questionable email attachments, clicking links in fake emails to fake sites, and running outdated browsers with scripting enabled, are the top vulnerabilities assuming you don't install warez/pirated software... or when a browser window pops up a message that you are infected, you believe it and act instead of just closing the window because you recognize it's a social engineering trick.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Dawidpl

Dawidpl

Junior Member
Sep 14, 2023
11
0
11
Thank you very much for answer
Can you please help me with this question
Good day i have a question about google chrome
1 . I found 3 download links for google chrome which one is the right
https://www.google.com/intl/pl_pl/chrome/
I 2 https://www.google.pl/intl/pl/chrome/ a nawet 3 https://www.google.com/chrome/


And which url for google is right
www.google.pl
Or
www.google.com
I remember in the past that in poland was google.pl
Now i see google.com
Do someone think which is right
Thanks for answer
 

mindless1

Diamond Member
Aug 11, 2001
7,984
1,424
126
I don't know. Since I'm in the US I would get it from either Google.com link.
 

Dawidpl

Junior Member
Sep 14, 2023
11
0
11
I don't know. Since I'm in the US I would get it from either Google.com link.
In the past in poland i remember always google.pl and even in the site was google polska now when you search something it is google.com even when you have google polska thats strange
 

mindless1

Diamond Member
Aug 11, 2001
7,984
1,424
126
Nope, I'd just get it from google.com, if it's not right, it will notify you during the install.