Please help with my psus

Discussion in 'Power Supplies' started by johnnysti08, Feb 17, 2013.

  1. johnnysti08

    johnnysti08 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys my first post here. I am a bit concerned as i am planning to buy a Radeon 7770 and i also have a Phenom II X6 1045T that i plan to overclock to 3.5GHZ. The problem is i want to know if my psu can handle it. Its cheap but i really cant afford to buy a new one atm.

    600W
    5 V Rail: 18 Amps
    +12 V1 Rail: 8 Amps
    +12 V2 Rail: 14 Amps
    +3.3 V Rail: 15 Amps
    -5 V Rail: 0.5 Amps
    -12 V Rail: 0.8 Amps
    +5 V SB Rail: 2 Amps

    Alternately i also have this one

    575W
    +5V 18 Amps
    +12V 14 Amps
    +3.3 14 Amps
    -12V 0.8 Amps
    +5VSB, 2 Amps

    Which one could run the 7770? I currently have a XFX 9500gt with has been running on the second PSU for 3 years now with no problems whatsoever.
    Thanks
     
    #1 johnnysti08, Feb 17, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2013
  2. mikeymikec

    mikeymikec Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    7,345
    Likes Received:
    17
    The top PSU is a joke, I'm not sure I would trust it to run anything. The second PSU doesn't look much good either, maybe an integrated graphics basic system for 2-3 years before it blows, IMO. Having said that, I've seen crap-name PSUs run for a lot longer than expected.

    You haven't mentioned brand and model names, which mean a lot when determining the capabilities of a PSU. The general word is along the lines that a decent-name 300W PSU can handle what a crap-name 500W might be able to manage in the short term.

    The other problem is that crap-name PSU makers will say "this can do x amps on the +12V rail!" when they actually mean "for 5 seconds before it blows". Decent-name PSU makers mean that it really can handle it properly. Having said that, I've never seen a decent-name PSU mention such low figures for the +12V rails before (the Antec HCG-400 says it can do 30A on the 12V rail).

    If a PSU dies, more damage can occur to the rest of the system. It is best to buy something decent to begin with and not run the risk.

    I used to trust Corsair until they replaced the trusty VX450W with the CX range, I got burnt badly by the CX v1 type PSUs until I switched to Antec HCG PSUs, which I haven't had any problems with yet.

    IMO an indicator to use to begin with are the '80 plus' ratings. PSUs with those ratings are supposed to be tested to deliver certain voltages within certain levels of efficiency. IMO, if they've been designed and tested to a higher standard than non-80-plus PSUs, they'll probably be better. After that, keeping an ear to the ground for who actually designed the PSU (e.g. Corsair employs other companies for the designs), Seasonic has the best reputation as far as I'm aware.
     
    #2 mikeymikec, Feb 17, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2013
  3. contrvlr

    contrvlr Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    600 watts , rails aren't additive but lets break the rules, 22 amps @ 12v :rolleyes:
    575 watts , single 14a / 12v rail, really ?

    No offence, but I'd toss them both
     
  4. johnnysti08

    johnnysti08 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh no! I really cant afford a new one now. Well i currently have the 9500gt which needs 18A i think, (im not really sure), for abt 3.5yrs with not 1 problem with the 575W PSU. Do you guys think its absolutely impossible to run the 7770 and overclock my 1045T on it? My friend who knows a lot says i could run it on the 600W psu
     
    #4 johnnysti08, Feb 17, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2013
  5. mikeymikec

    mikeymikec Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    7,345
    Likes Received:
    17
    Do what you want to do, seriously. Also bear in mind that the efficiency/capability of PSUs drop over time, it's the reason why weedy PSUs in a lot of big-name desktop PCs die in 3-5 years.
     
  6. johnnysti08

    johnnysti08 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    well ok, but its it ok if you can direct me to the cheapest psu that can handle it thanks?
     
  7. mikeymikec

    mikeymikec Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    7,345
    Likes Received:
    17
    I'll let someone else do that as I tend to over-spec rather than try to cut it fine (ie. I play it safe).

    Based on my own guess I would probably go for an Antec HCG-520 because you want to over-clock and have a decent graphics card in there. Stable, fast, cheap, pick any two :) Possibly a higher HCG model than the 520, considering that the Phenom II X6 isn't known for its economy.

    I have a Corsair VX450W in mine, which has a Phenom II X6 and a 5770 graphics card, both running at stock speeds.
     
    #7 mikeymikec, Feb 17, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2013
  8. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,652
    Likes Received:
    80
    My Phenom II X6 1045T @ stock, and a GTX460 1GB OC card, reach 370-380W at the wall at load, with an Antec EarthWatts 650W PSU. OC the CPU a bit, and it would likely exceed 400W.
     
  9. johnnysti08

    johnnysti08 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok fine, guys BTW my 1045T is 93w TDP and i think ill go with a 7750 for safety
     
    #9 johnnysti08, Feb 17, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 17, 2013
  10. Torn Mind

    Torn Mind Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2012
    Messages:
    2,773
    Likes Received:
    3
    Run everything at stock for now. The second PSU is rated for 168 watts on the 12v rail and the first one might be around the same(need to know the combined wattage of both rails on the first one).

    If you need a cheap quality one in the future and don't mind rebates, then Corsair CX430 regularly go for around 25 dollars after rebate.
     
  11. mikeymikec

    mikeymikec Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    7,345
    Likes Received:
    17
    It'll use more power if you overclock it.
     
  12. johnnysti08

    johnnysti08 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok thx alot guys ill be getting the 7750 as i heard it hardly consumes power