PLC punch to the face

gregulator

Apr 23, 2000
I am working on an industrial control application, and originally we were going to just use a microcontroller (a 16-bit PIC) but the more we think about it, the more we think a PLC might be the answer. The task is simple: an encoder will likely tick in the 50-100us range, and we need to turn a digital output on every 10ms of ticks or so. We may need a few other operations to happen in parallel, but nothing too complex. Certainly not taxing a PIC by any means.

However, it is an industrial environment and needs to run 24/7/365 for a few years in a somewhat harsh environment, and I know PLCs are qualified for such demanding tasks. This is my first time looking at them, and I want to cry... ladder logic hurts my coding soul. I am looking at the "scan rate" and they seem to execute loops in the ms range, and I am not sure that this will be fast enough. I normally code PICs to be all interrupt driven, and I am not sure I will have enough control/speed over the interrupts on the PLC. Does anyone have experience with them? Are my speed requirements too much for a PLC? Also, I cannot believe you have to pay for the RSLogix software package to program these things...

Mar 6, 2012
I don't personally code with PLCs, but I work with the guy who does. I've seen the beasts PLCs run around my workplace, and it's really impressive. One being shipped this week runs lots of I think 10 servos, 5 pressure sensors, grippers, feeders, clamps, etc. All this off of one PLC, so I know they have the power. A separate safety PLC handles all of the safety features of the machine.

ControlD

Diamond Member
Apr 25, 2005
I program PLCs (and any other controls related equipment) for a living and I can't think of any model off the top of my head that will fit your needs, and certainly the Allen Bradley PLC you are looking at isn't going to fit the bill.