Planetside 2..Free to play..and looking awesome so far!

Discussion in 'PC Gaming' started by imaheadcase, Sep 15, 2011.

  1. SunnyD

    SunnyD Belgian Waffler

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,543
    Likes Received:
    4
    Partial patch notes from yesterday:

    My personal "It's a mistake" notes in bold.

     
  2. imaheadcase

    imaheadcase Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2005
    Messages:
    3,805
    Likes Received:
    0
    F4ER9PMCA43ZMMNKKKF3
    P7XE6MPRGME4K7FC2NMF
    ZXXAE3RZFJ3X6TTRXX2Z
    CZ3X4P62J6A4ZHZHJ4EJ
    3CKEZ72244JM7RZN2NKN

    more keys if anyone wants them for this last week of play. I can't believe its going to be released in less than 2 weeks..lol
     
  3. Acanthus

    Acanthus Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    19,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    My two big questions:

    Is it as laggy as PS1 was?
    Are there hitboxes? Or does it still take 2 full clips of ammo to the face to kill a player?
     
  4. LightRider

    LightRider Senior member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2001
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    1
    PPEAKPZ97X7HM9RHCAP2
    HZCED2KRTZDF9NANJXNT
    JCT36GAAKXTTERAK26TE
    NTN9TRF74P9EPE6CZGXE
    HM9XARK3XDRH9C9EDNHE

    5 more on the pile.
     
  5. Carmen813

    Carmen813 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hitboxes are fine and lag isn't an issue for me. Does appear there may be a clientside bug that allows certain people to "jerk" sideways quickly, but its very rare to run into (I suspect it's an exploit)
     
  6. Ashenor

    Ashenor Golden Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,227
    Likes Received:
    0
    How is it, i have had a beta invite for awhile but have not tried it out still.

    Is the beta up all the time?
     
  7. Carmen813

    Carmen813 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2007
    Messages:
    3,187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Beta is up 24/7 now until the 16th, when it ends. I believe the game is outstanding - but it's best when you get in an organized platoon.
     
  8. Acanthus

    Acanthus Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2001
    Messages:
    19,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    so there are hitboxes? a leg shot and a head shot are not the same?
     
  9. SunnyD

    SunnyD Belgian Waffler

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,543
    Likes Received:
    4
    Absolutely not the same. Headshots can and often do 1- or 2-shot people. Body shots, depending on the weapon, can easily absorb an entire clip or more. You even get bonus XP for headshot kills.

    Even Planetside 1 had multiple hitboxes.
     
  10. 12andy

    12andy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    6GTTN6AAE6JE2HK69N44
    RRX33T2MP6EE9J9H2MJA
    JR7GHT42AX6XCHXD6TKJ
    F9PN3D743H6P3EGPFX7A
    32DHTTHZ6NFR9KPDDJFX

    Not sure if it's placebo, but starting to really feel the performance improvements now. Lab fights are much more tolerable on my Phenom II X4 940/ 6850 CF setup (created a custom profile, AFR-friendly, for the time being).
     
  11. power_hour

    power_hour Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    1
    You guys organizing a clan or group for this? Game looks sweet
     
  12. Red Storm

    Red Storm Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,193
    Likes Received:
    2
    It would be fun to have an AT outfit, though that means we'd have to agree on one faction.

    I personally have no problem being a Barney, Smurf, or Elmo. ;)
     
  13. power_hour

    power_hour Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    1
    Really? What is this a Treehouse FPS?
     
  14. M0oG0oGaiPan

    M0oG0oGaiPan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2000
    Messages:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    0
    finally started playing this. it's fun but i can't rebind my keys. looks like it's a bug that's affecting other users.

    edit: forgot to mention this is on steam now. unlocks in 6 days
     
  15. 2is

    2is Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2012
    Messages:
    3,998
    Likes Received:
    12
    Playing the beta... has potential, but seems like a long learning curve... then again, i've never played a MMO

    and i cant bind keys either
     
  16. M0oG0oGaiPan

    M0oG0oGaiPan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2000
    Messages:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    0
    hit boxes are terrible when people are moving. net code could use some work too. is there a console for this game?
     
  17. 12andy

    12andy Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, we could always have three separate outfits. ;)

    Haven't needed to rebind since my keys were set from many patches ago, so can't comment on that aspect.

    Steam, eh? WTG. :) Great times ahead.

    MMO experience is irrelevant in this game, for the most part. Each continent plays like a huge BF match, whereby one simply gets points for doing stuff. Rack up enough points, "purchase" sidegrades/ new weapons, rinse, repeat.

    Moogoo: Unless I'm experiencing major packet loss, I haven't had any issues with the hitboxes. Are you referring to the "ADADADA" strafing during close range combat? Are you leading all of your shots (including accounting for gravity), considering the guns actually have bullet trajectory and aren't hitscan?

    No console, AFAIK.
     
  18. Red Storm

    Red Storm Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,193
    Likes Received:
    2
    Those names have been around since PS1.
     
  19. M0oG0oGaiPan

    M0oG0oGaiPan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2000
    Messages:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    0
    i do lead my shots. sometimes you'll shoot someone nothing happens for a second and then they die. people disappear for half a second at long range at times while running. (not talking about cloaking). It's like someone that's warping around like in cs.

    i hate how there will be guys driving around in apcs and they'll drive right past you when there's 11 slots empty. When can i start driving vehicles around?
     
  20. Red Storm

    Red Storm Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,193
    Likes Received:
    2
    From the beginning? You only need resources to obtain vehicles, no skills/certs needed. The ATV is super cheap.
     
  21. M0oG0oGaiPan

    M0oG0oGaiPan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2000
    Messages:
    7,859
    Likes Received:
    0
    oh nice, i'm assuming I just have to earn credits and buy a vehicle like in tribes from a station?
     
  22. SunnyD

    SunnyD Belgian Waffler

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2001
    Messages:
    32,543
    Likes Received:
    4
    Liberators have WAY too much armor. Period. Either that or they need to unnerf ground AA.

    Something to be said when 3 Burster MAXes and a couple of heavies with AA rockets can go all out on a Liberator and it can still get out alive.
     
  23. crownjules

    crownjules Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,859
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes. You'll passively earn resource points depending on how much territory your faction control on the continent. Then just go up to a station (they'll have a hologram of your MBT, air vehicle, galaxy ,etc) to purchase.
     
  24. Pr0d1gy

    Pr0d1gy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2005
    Messages:
    7,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got some quick questions for you guys.

    1) Just built a new PC but I'm not sure if it will handle this game, and after playing the first one on a Dell Dimension 2100 I know how bad that can be with this game in big battles. Here are my basics:
    i5 3570
    8gb
    120gb SSD
    gt640

    2) Are any of those codes above still good?

    3) When is this game going to release?

    I loved the first one whenever I could get it to not stutter on my crappy old PC so I expect this should be a good game as well.
     
  25. crownjules

    crownjules Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,859
    Likes Received:
    0
    If I'm correct, the 640 looks to be a slight upgrade over a GTX460? I run the game fine on mostly high settings, but my GPU is definitely fully cranked at all times in game.

    The game releases on the 20th.

    edit: I was wrong. The 640 looks like it actually performs worse than my 460. So you'll probably need to play @ 1680x1050 with some more settings at medium than I do to keep a playable FPS. It'll work, just not with all the eye candy. If I were you I'd think about returning that card and getting something for another $20-30 that will give you better results.
     
    #650 crownjules, Nov 14, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2012
Loading...