places to go/things to see in/around Denver? UPDATE:

pennylane

Diamond Member
Apr 28, 2002
I'm going to Denver for business tomorrow and I'm thinking of staying an extra day and maybe doing some sight-seeing. I'm into photography, and I'm more interested in seeing things than doing things (like skiing, for example).

I'll probably be able to do some city stuff (I hear the breweries are good), though suggestions there would be good also.

I was thinking of visiting a park of some kind, like Red Rocks or the Rocky Mountain National Park. How accessible are they during the winter? Can people... hike through them? I'd be willing to go on a gentle hike if it's not too rough or cold or rainy or snowy. (I'm not very experienced, and I'd probably be going alone)

Is it snowing there right now (for those that live there). Is there a lot of snow just lying around? Could driving through parks or wherever be difficult? I don't have any experience driving with snow.

Thanks

UPDATE

I've finally finished with Denver pics (it's been busy the last month). I ended up going to the Denver Aquarium because it was open late on Friday the 18th. I didn't have time to go anywhere else because work spilled over into Friday. I spent Saturday at Red Rocks. It was really nice there, especially with the fresh powdered snow. It was a gorgeous day.

I'm sort of a work in progress (with a long way to go), but here are the pics I took:
Denver Aquarium
Red Rocks

Everything was taken on a Nikon D50 with a Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8. A couple of them are a little too soft/slightly out of focus :(. Most of the aquarium pics were taken at ISO1600, so they're a tad noisy. I was a little panorama happy.

Thanks again to everybody.

Jadow

Diamond Member
Feb 12, 2003
drive into the moutains, Red Rocks Ampitheater, Eisenhower Tunnell.

For dinner, Brooks Steakhouse or get a really cool experience at "The Fort"

IronWing

No Lifer
Jul 20, 2001