PCI Video Card worth it for this Core 2 Duo Machine?

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by spiritofjerry, Nov 10, 2012.

  1. spiritofjerry

    spiritofjerry Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    New to these forums, here, so go gentle.

    I am trying to decide whether to purchase a video card for my machine. It is a Core 2 Duo E4300 1.8 Ghz machine running a measly 250W power supply. The built-in graphics, according to CPU-Z, is the Intel 82852/82855 GM/GME on-board. Total allocated video memory is 64 MB. I was thinking about jumping up to a GeForce 8400 option, does that sound like it would be better than the on-board?

    Here's the other thing: there only are 2 PCI slots available (no PCI-e or AGP, as it's a smaller tower). I know this really limits my options and speed, but keep in mind my low-power PSU, so I am quite restricted matter how I cut it. From what I understand, however, my wattage consumption is relatively low on the machine, and I am not looking to do any 3D gaming - just HD video streaming (all I really want is for a 1080p Youtube, Netflix, etc. video to look decent and not 'chop chop'.)

    Is this possible to playback 1080p videos and decrease processor load when loading Web pages with a card like this?:
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814187182

    I'm looking to accommodate a 23" or 24" widescreen display @ 1600x1200.

    Any input is appreciated!
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Video Card worth Forum Date
    Best video card that's worth getting for i5 2500K CPU System Video Cards and Graphics Apr 16, 2015
    Worth upgrading video card? Need help fast..Updated correctly Video Cards and Graphics Mar 29, 2012
    Worth upgrading just my video card? Video Cards and Graphics Sep 6, 2011
    Is it worth upgrading my video card? Video Cards and Graphics Feb 20, 2011
    Is it worth replacing two Radeon 4850 video cards right now? Video Cards and Graphics Jul 18, 2010

  3. Magic Carpet

    Magic Carpet Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2011
    Messages:
    3,103
    Likes Received:
    2
    I'd rather get this.
     
  4. angminas

    angminas Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    3,182
    Likes Received:
    3
    Welcome!

    A few pointers:

    I haven't dealt with PCI video cards in several years, but any card you can get should free up some RAM if you can disable the onboard video. If you don't have enough RAM, that will provide a performance boost..but if you have plenty already, adding 64 won't be noticeable.

    If you're willing to look at cheapo / used, you might find a small motherboard and a much more powerful PCI-Express card for not too much than you're looking at spending already. If that's overkill, it's overkill, but it's an option.

    Wattage of your PSU is less important than amperage. It may be more or less powerful than you realize. Take a look at this: http://www.extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsp

    Don't buy anything today. Wait for Black Friday.

    Hope I helped! Have fun, and let us know what you go with and how well it works.
     
  5. spiritofjerry

    spiritofjerry Junior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome, thank you for your advice!
     
  6. Insert_Nickname

    Insert_Nickname Platinum Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2012
    Messages:
    2,773
    Likes Received:
    24
    Hrmmm... that's a though one...

    One one hand if you add a PCI-card it will solve your immediate problem, but there isn't much future left in your system without PCIe. I kind of get the feeling that it would be wasted money. That PCI-card Magic Carpet linked to is very expensive for what it is...

    I would seriously look into replacing your mainboard. For what you describe something E350/450-based should cover your needs. Unfortunately I am not American so I can't really tell you about pricing but you should look at these. Just add RAM and you have a fully fledged system as the CPU is already onboard. It also requires a valid Windows-licence so you can reinstall...