PC makes 4 short beeps and restarts

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by Alpina, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. Alpina

    Alpina Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey guys and thanks in advance. Just assembled new PC, and got an problem.

    1. Push Power Button
    2. 4 Short beeps
    3. Fans power up for 5seconds
    4. Loops same as above until i power off.
    NO Video
    If I boot with NO ram get 1 long beep. Tried only single RAM stick, but still same. RAMs put in A1 B1 slots as said in manual.

    So i googled this:

    4 short System timer failure The system clock/timer IC has failed or there is a memory error in the first bank of memory.

    Now I tried removing GPU, HDD, DVD-ROM, it's same. I have 2 correctly inserted RAM sticks. I plugged all cables correctly!

    What can it be?
     
    #1 Alpina, Dec 28, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2012
  2. Kenmitch

    Kenmitch Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    6,570
    Likes Received:
    8
    s1155? Bent pins possibly.

    List system specs.
     
  3. JerYnkFan

    JerYnkFan Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2006
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try different RAM slots. I had a board that they said to put in 1&3 for dual channel and it wouldn't boot for crap. Put in 2&4 and boom it worked no problem
     
  4. philipma1957

    philipma1957 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    this try 1 ram stick in every slot. then try the second ram stick in every slot. in both cases only use 1 stick. please tell me the sticks are 4gb. it also helps if you tell us the mobo and the ram.
     
  5. Alpina

    Alpina Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    MB: ASROCK S1155 B75 DDR3 SATA6 USB3 MATX
    RAM: CORSAIR DDR3-1333 2*4G 240 DIMM UNBUFFER
    CPU: Intel Core i3-3220, 3.30GHz, 3MB, LGA1155, 22nm, BOX
    PSU: Corsair VS 450W ATX 80 Plus Labai tylus 120mm ventiliatorius

    I just tried those 2 RAM sticks into my own home PC and everything booted and worked great, so i guess it's not the faulty RAM.

    Now gonna go and check if I can insert RAMs into A2 B2 or different slots. I may also try to put my own working RAMs into new build and see if it help.

    But if this won't work, what else can i do?

    Bent pins where?
     
    #5 Alpina, Dec 29, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 29, 2012
  6. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    1

    Nice SSD philipma

    :p
     
  7. KingerXI

    KingerXI Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just because your ram works with another PC doesn't mean the ram is not causing your issue. I have seen many times when one set of ram works perfectly fine with one mobo but wasn't compatible with another. I would try a different set of ram.
     
  8. Ketchup

    Ketchup Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    12,491
    Likes Received:
    1
    Have you tried resetting the BIOS yet?
     
  9. Alpina

    Alpina Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys.

    Yep reseted CMOS, but still same, and tried with my other good rams - still the same. So brought it back to store, they tested and said it's faulty motherboard. Now 2 weeks wait for new one.

    I wish Asrock would test their motherboards before selling.
     
  10. Ketchup

    Ketchup Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    12,491
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, if the CMOS and RAM were ruled out, there is a faulty chip on the board. Too bad the wait it so long.

    Tons of people on the AT forums buy Asrock and have no problems with them whatsoever. You were just one of the unlucky ones I'm afraid/
     
  11. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    1
    THis is a sign of OC.

    You need to rest the motherboard. we just need to get in the BIOS. CAn you do that or not enough time ?
     
  12. Iron Woode

    Iron Woode Lifer

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    21,590
    Likes Received:
    4
    they make 10's of thousands of boards, so there are bound to be few hundred bad ones.

    it happens.
     
  13. mugamoodi

    mugamoodi Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    It may be due to heating issues of ur processor.ur procesor n its cooling fan r nt stuck properly with the thermal compound.check it.
     
  14. tydas

    tydas Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2000
    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    0
    What store are you dealing with that needs two weeks for a new board? maybe they knew it was bad and sold it to you...in my dozens of builds over the years never had a bad m/b
     
  15. Alpina

    Alpina Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Lithuanian store, they say that they must sent MB to Asrock and they then send new one back. If they had one in store available they would of course gave me new one immediately, but they didn't.
     
  16. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    1
    Im with you I think they don't have a QA lol :wub:

    Just buy a temporary card from Fry's or microcenter. ASUS is slow but trust me they havent forgotten about your card. gl
     
    #16 tweakboy, Jan 13, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2013
  17. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    1
    Couple beeps and no post.. This is def your motherboard my friend, RAM is fine. Ive seen this happen before. You try 1 stick it still does it. mobo wont post hmmmmm...
     
    #17 tweakboy, Jan 13, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2013
  18. Alpina

    Alpina Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    They said board is repaired and i can take it back. But ain't it supposed to be new one? They sold me defective MB which i didn't even used so imo they should give me completely new one and not repaired old.

    Anyone was is such situation; do i have a right to ask for new mobo?
     
  19. Ketchup

    Ketchup Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    12,491
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm sure the rules differ from country to country, and the fact, that the store wanted to send it to Asrock to be fixed, should show that.

    This is not the way things go in the US, if you are within the period of time the store says they will accept the return. Stores accept and take care of returns for a much shorter time frame than the manufacturers do though.
     
  20. Alpina

    Alpina Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay that's ridiculous... So i waited 2 weeks for a return and they replaced it with some cheap 1 channel RAM gigabyte MB, didn't even ask me if i want this mobo.

    Gonna get my money back tomorrow and order from other store.
     
  21. Ketchup

    Ketchup Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    12,491
    Likes Received:
    1
    Good idea, that's ridiculous.
     
  22. Alpina

    Alpina Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    So today i put same but new Asrock mobo, plugged everything in and again 4 beeps o_O

    Now i went to store and they said it's maybe due to wrong bios version hence mobo does not see CPU. Is it likely indeed the case here?

    If so, then i am surprised no one even mentioned that here, so probably even my first mobo wasn't defective, all it needed was correct bios version. I imagine there should be a lot of cases similar to mine..?
     
  23. tweakboy

    tweakboy Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    1

    That is unacceptable imo...
     
  24. Ketchup

    Ketchup Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    12,491
    Likes Received:
    1

    Well, three of the BIOS updates for that motherboard have had "update CPU code" in them, so that is a possibility.
     
  25. Alpina

    Alpina Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2012
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay so i updated bios, put RAM and again 4 beeps, but then i switched RAMs several times and 4 beeps disappeared. Now everything is cool, when i power up i get into bios BUT i don't hear even a single beep. I thought 1 beep is always supposed to be or?